1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Saurav Ganguly awarded Honorary Life Membership of Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC)

Feb 17, 2015 12:37 IST

Saurav GangulyMarylebone Cricket Club (MCC) on 13 February 2015 awarded Honorary Life Membership to the former Indian cricket captain Saurav Ganguly. He has been a member of the MCC World Cricket committee since July 2014.

Ganguly, affectionately called Dada and the Prince of Calcutta, retired from all forms of international cricket in 2012 after playing for India for 16 long years.

He debuted for India in 1996 at the Lord’s against England and went on to score 131-run in first innings of his test debut. The knock at the Lord’s helped him to etch his name on the famous Lord’s Honours Board in process.

His captaincy during Nat-West series Final at Lords in 2002, in which India defeated England to win the series, is regarded as the greatest ever match played at Lord’s.

About Saurav Ganguly
• Ganguly in his 16 years of play made 7212 runs at an average of 42.17 in Tests and 11363 runs at an average of 41.02 in One Day Internationals (ODIs).
• He also took 132 wickets across 424 matches in both Tests and ODIs
• He captain Indian cricket team in 195 international matches between 2000 and 2006 and led India into the 2003 World Cup final, where India was defeated by Australia
• He retired from ODIs in 2007, Tests in 2008 and from all formats of International cricket in 2012.
• He was awarded with the Padma Shri in 2004 and Banga Bibhushan Award of West Bengal government in 2013.

Other Indian cricketers to receive Honorary Life Membership of MCC
There are now more than 300 Honorary Life Members of MCC out of a total Full Membership of 18000. Other Indian cricketers who have received the Honorary Life Membership include N.J. ontractor (1969), RF Surti (1978), MV Chandgadkar (1978), AL Wadekar (1978), CG Borde (1981), FM Engineer (1981), RG Nadkarni (1981), BS Bedi (1982), BS Chandrasekhar (1982), EAS Prasanna (1984), S Venkataraghavan (1988), GR Viswanath (1990), M Amarnath (1993), SM Gavaskar (1993), DB Vengsarkar (1993), Kapil Dev (1995), SMH Kirmani (1995), RJ Shastri (1995), J Dalmiya (1997), KS More (1999), Rahul Dravid (2008), Anil Kumble (2008), Sachin Tendulkar (2010) and Saurav Ganguly (2015).

Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC)
Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) is the world’s most active cricket club and is owned by the owner of Lord’s Ground and the guardian of the Laws of the game. It was founded in 1787 and is recognised as the sole authority on the Laws of Cricket since its foundation and it moved to its current home at Lord’s in 1814.

Honorary Life Membership is awarded by the MCC Committee to individuals in recognition of the service they have given to the cricket and projects surrounding the game, often over a very long period.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes16 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK