1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Sean Abbott of Australia named as the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year 2015

Jan 29, 2015 17:17 IST

Fast bowler Sean Abbott of Australia on 27 January 2015 was named as the Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year 2015 at the Allan Border Medal ceremony held in Sydney.

Other winners at the ceremony includes
• Allan Border Medal: Steve Smith, Captain of Australia
• Test Player of the Year 2015: Steve Smith
• One Day International Player of the Year 2015: Steve Smith
• Twenty20 International Player of the Year 2015 – Glenn Maxwell
• Women's International Cricketer of the Year (The Belinda Clark Award) – Southern Stars Captain Meg Lanning
• Australian Cricket Hall of Fame – Adam Gilchrist and late Victorian all-rounder Jack Ryder

Steve Smith became third player to win all the three awards namely Allan Border Medal, Test and ODI player of the year award after Ricky Ponting and Shane Watson.

About Allan Border Medal

The Allan Border Medal is considered as the most prestigious individual prize in Australian cricket. The medal is named after former Australian captain Allan Border and recognises the most outstanding Australian cricketer of the past season.

The first award was given in 2000 and the first recipient was Glenn McGrath.

The Allan Border Medal is decided by votes cast by players, umpires and media representatives at international matches.

Only three cricketers have won the award more than once. Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke won the award four times, sharing the award in 2009. Shane Watson had won the award twice.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes32 People Agreed

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK