Serena Williams of US won the women’s single title of Australian Open 2015

Serena Williams defeated Maria Sharapova 6-3, 7-6(5) in Melbourne, Australia to clinch sixth title of Australian Open. This was 19th career Grand Slam title for Williams who had never faced defeat by Sharapova since 2004.

Feb 2, 2015 11:11 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Serena Williams on 31 January 2015 won the women’s single title of Australian Open of Tennis. In the summit clash, the world number one American defeated Maria Sharapova, the world number two from Russia 6-3, 7-6(5) in Melbourne, Australia.

With this win, 33- years and 127 days old Williams became the oldest winner of the Australian Women’s title in the Open era.

This was the 19th Grand Slam title and the sixth Australian Open title for Williams.

The win enabled Williams to join the fellow American Helen Wills Moody at third place on the all-time list of women winning Grand Slams.

The other two women holding the record of more Grand Slam singles title than Williams are Australia's Margaret Court (24) and Germany's Steffi Graf (22).

Serena’s 19 Grand Slams include




Years of winning

Australian Open


2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2015

French Open


2002, 2013



2002, 2003, 2009, 2010, 2012

US Open


1999, 2002, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014

Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए


Related Categories