Shashi Kapoor selected for the Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2014

He also appeared in notable British and American films like The Householder, Shakespeare Wallah, Bombay Talkie, Heat and Dust, Siddhartha and Muhafiz.

Mar 24, 2015 09:09 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Shashi KapoorThe Union Government on 23 March 2015 announced that Shashi Kapoor was selected for the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2014. The 77-year-old the veteran film actor and producer is the 46th Dada Saheb Phalke Award winner.

The 2014 Dadasaheb Phalke award to Shashi Kapoor made him the third member of Kapoor family to receive the award after Prithviraj Kapoor and Raj Kapoor.

About Shashi Kapoor
• He started acting in films as a child in late 1940s and his best known performances as child artist were in Aag (1948), Awaara (1951) and Sangram (1950). In these two films, he played the younger version of the character played by his elder brother Raj Kapoor. In Sangram, he played younger version of Ashok Kumar.
• He made his debut as a lead actor in the 1961 film Dharmputra.
• During his Bollywood career during the 1960s, 1970s and mid-1980s, he appeared in more than 100 Hindi films.
• He also appeared in notable British and American films like The Householder (1963), Shakespeare Wallah (1965), Bombay Talkie (1970), Bombay Talkie (1970), Siddhartha (1972), Heat and Dust (1982), Heat and Dust (1982), The Deceivers (1988), Muhafiz (1994), Side Streets (1998), and others.
• In 1978, he established his own production house Film Valas, which produced critically acclaimed films like Junoon (1978), Kalyug (1981), 36 Chowringhee Lane (1981), Vijeta (1982) and Utsav (1984).
• He also produced and directed film titled Ajooba, which had Amitabh Bachchan and Rishi in the lead role.
• Shashi Kapoor was born as Balbir Raj Prithviraj Kapoor on 18 March 1938 in Calcutta (now Kolkata) during British Raj.
• He is the younger brother of Raj Kapoor and Shammi Kapoor, the son of Prithviraj Kapoor.
• He is the widower of Jennifer Kendal, and the father of Karan Kapoor, Kunal Kapoor, and Sanjana Kapoor.

Awards and Honours conferred on Shashi Kapoor
• Padma Bhushan by the Government of India in 2011
• He is a recipient of three National Film Awards and they includes
a) National Film Award – Special Jury Award / Special Mention (Feature Film) for Muhafiz in 1994
b) National Film Award for Best Actor for New Delhi Times in 1986
c) National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Hindi (as Producer) for Junoon in 1979
• Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award in 2010
• Filmfare Best Movie Award for Kalyug in 1982 and Junoon in 1980
• Filmfare Best Supporting Actor Award for Deewar in 1976

Dadasaheb Phalke Award

The Dadasaheb Phalke award is the highest award of India in cinema and is conferred by the Union Government for outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian Cinema. The award was introduced in 1969 to commemorate the birth centenary year of Dadasaheb Phalke.

The award carries a Swarn Kamal (Golden Lotus), a cash prize of 10 lakh rupees and a shawl.

The award is given on the basis of recommendations of a Committee of eminent persons set up the Government for the purpose.


Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए