Shikhar Dhawan named among Wisden’s Five Cricketers of the Year

Shikhar Dhawan named as one of the Five Cricketers of the Year 2013. Others are Joe Root, Charlotte Edwards, Chris Rogers, Ryan Harris and Dale Steyn.

Created On: Apr 11, 2014 15:15 ISTModified On: Apr 11, 2014 16:38 IST

Shikhar DhawanShikhar Dhawan, the Indian cricketer on 9 April 2014 was named as one of the Five Cricketers of 2014 for his performance in 2013. The other four to be named under the list of cricketer of the year are
• Chris Rogers and Ryan Harris of Australia
• Joe Root of England
• Charlotte Edwards, the captain of women’s team of England

These names were announced in London.

Dhawan was honoured for being the highest run-scorer during India’s triumph in the ICC Champions trophy in which he scored 363 runs in five ODIs at an average of 90.75. He was the Man of the Series performance in the Champions Trophy 2013. Dhawan in 2013 scored 1162 runs in 26 ODIs at an average of 50.52.


Australian duo Ryan Harris and Chris Rogers along with the English Joe Root were honoured for their contributions to the 2013 Ashes. Edwards was chosen for leading the English side to the finals of the World Twenty20 tournament and became the second woman to be named under the Wisden Cricketer of the Year list.  
Dale Steyn, the South African fast bowler has been judged as the Leading cricketer in the World. He is the second South African cricketer after Jacques Kallis to be selected as the Wisden’s Leading Cricketer of the world. Kallis was named in 2007.

The Leading Cricketer of the World award has no such limit like Cricketer of the year and it recognises the strongest international performance of the previous year.

About Wisden’s Cricketers of the Year
Wisden Cricketer of the year dates back to 1889 and since then the honour is given annually. The list of the Cricketer of the Year is chosen by the editor of the Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack depending upon their excellence and performance of the previous English summer. This title can be won by any cricketer only once in his/her career.


In the previous release the Wisden’s Cricketer of the year were HM Amla, NRD Compton, JH Kallis, MN Samuels and DW Steyn. In the first edition in 1889 the cricketers to be nominated under the list were J Briggs, JJ Ferris, GA Lohmann, R Peel, CTB Turner and SMJ Woods.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप


Related Stories

Comment (0)

Post Comment

8 + 0 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    Monthly Current Affairs PDF

    • Current Affairs PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs PDF June 2021
    View all

    Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF November 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF October 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF September 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2021
    • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2021
    View all