Sonia Gandhi named as Chairperson of Congress Campaign Committee

Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi named as the Chairperson and Co-Chairman respectively of the party’s 50-member Campaign Committee for 2014 elections.

Created On: Feb 12, 2014 16:16 ISTModified On: Feb 12, 2014 17:45 IST

Sonia GandhiSonia Gandhi, the President of All India National Congress on 11 February 2014 was named as the Chairperson of the party’s 50-member Campaign Committee for 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Rahul Gandhi has been named as the Co-Chairman for the same committee.

Earlier, the party said that the Vice President of the party, Rahul Gandhi will lead the campaign for the upcoming general (Lok Sabha) elections. Apart from this, Prime Minister of India, Manmohan Singh will be a member of the committee along with several union ministers.

Senior ministers named for the committee include AK Antony, P Chidambaram, Sushil Kumar Shinde, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Salman Khurshid, Kamal Nath, Anand Sharma and Jairam Ramesh. Former chief ministers named in the list include Sheila Dikshit and Ashok Gehlot. The committee also has some senior party leaders like Ahmed Patel, Motilal Vora, Janardan Dwivedi, Madhusudan Mistri, Digvijay Singh, Ambika Soni and BK Hariprasad are among the members of the Committee. Union ministers included in the list of members of the committee are Jyotiraditya Scindia, V Narayanasamy, Jitender Singh, Rajeev Shukla, Manish Tewari and JD Seelam.

These decisions were made during a meeting of the party. Lok Sabha elections in India are likely to be held in April and May 2014, which will lay the path for formation of the new government by the end of May 2014.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

3 + 1 =