Sri Lanka and Seychelles signed six agreements

Sri Lanka and Seychelles has signed 6 agreements of bilateral importance in presence of Mahinda Rajapaksa and James Michael in Victoria.

Created On: Jun 30, 2014 18:57 ISTModified On: Jun 30, 2014 18:59 IST

Sri Lanka and Seychelles on 28 June 2014 signed 6 agreements of bilateral importance. The agreements were signed during the visit of Sri Lankan President to Seychelles. The six agreements were signed between Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa and President of Seychelles, James Michael in the capital, Victoria.

As per the agreement a Joint Commission on cooperation will be established that will guide the entire bilateral cooperation mechanism including identifying areas of bilateral cooperation, arriving at agreements, implementation, identifying issues and finding solutions.

Apart from this, the two Presidents in their discussion agreed to strengthen bilateral relations while expanding cooperation into new areas like areas of trade, investment, tourism, education and people-to-people contact. Rajapaksa also emphasized on Sri Lankan interest to develop the Blue Economy concept as well as their partnership in the Small Island Developing States (SIDS) Forum to be held in Samoa in September 2014.

Rajapaksa who is on a 3-day working visit to the Indian Ocean island state also declared open Sri Lankan Embassy in Seychelles.

Seychelles is an archipelago of 155-island in the Indian Ocean.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

6 + 4 =