1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. State Current Affairs  |  

Tangirala Sowmya of TDP won Nandigama Assembly by-poll of AP

Sep 17, 2014 15:33 IST

Tangirala Sowmya of Telugu Desam Party won Nandigama Assembly by-poll of Andhra Pradesh on 16 September 2014. The election was held on 13 September 2014. She won by 74827 votes on her rival Bodapati Babu Rao of Indian National Congress.

Sowmya, a software engineer, got 99748 votes while her opponent got 24921 votes. She won the by-polls, riding on the sympathy wave of her father’s death.

YSR Congress, the main Opposition Party of Andhra Pradesh didn't fielded candidate after TDP requested other parties to make the election unanimous.

Indian National Congress, which lost the identity after AP bifurcation suffered the loss yet again. However it lost without losing the deposit, this was the only thing to cheer up for the National Party.


The by-election was held in Nandigama Assembly Constituency due to the vacancy caused by the death of TDP MLA, Tangirala Prabhakara Rao due to a cardiac arrest. He died days after he was elected in the May 2014 General Election polls. The newly elected MLA T.Sowmya is the daughter of Late MLA T.Prabhakara Rao.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes10 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Tangirala Sowmya , TDP , Nandigama Assembly

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK