1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Tarun Chatarjee appointed Chairman of the Uttar Pradesh State Human Rights Commission

Oct 26, 2013 11:32 IST

The Uttar Pradesh Government on 25 October 2013 appointed retired Justice Tarun Chaterjee as the new chairman of the state Human Rights Commission.

State government also nominated Justice UK Dhawan and Asha Tiwari as the members of the Commission.

Tarun Chaterjee (68-year-old) was the chief justice at the Allahabad high court in 2003 and retired as a Supreme Court judge in 2010.

The name of Tarun Chaterjee was cleared by a high-powered committee comprising Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, leader of opposition in both houses Naseemuddin Siddiqui and Swamy Prasad Maurya.

About State Human Rights Commission (SHRC)

The State Human Rights Commission is an autonomous high power human rights watch body. The Protection of Human Rights Act, 1993 makes provisions for the establishment of State Human Rights Commission. 23 States so far set up state human rights commissions in their respective states. State human rights commission consists of one chairperson and two members.

The Chairperson and members of the state human rights commission shall be appointed by the Governor.

Appointment process of the Chairperson and members of SHRC

Every appointment to the commission shall be made after obtaining the recommendation of the Committee consisting of

(a) The Chief Minister – Chairperson
(b) Speaker of the Legislative Assembly - Member (c) Minister in-charge of the Department of Home, in that State –Member
(d) Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly – Member

Provided further that where there is a Legislative Council in a State, the Chairman of that Council and the Leader of the Opposition in that Council shall also be members of the Committee.

Term of the Chairperson and Members

(i) A person appointed as Chairperson shall hold office for a term of five years from the date on which he enters upon his office or until he attains the age of seventy years, whichever is earlier;
(ii) A person appointed as a Member shall hold office for a term of five years from date on which he enters upon his office and shall be eligible for re-appointment for another term of five gears. Provided that no Member shall hold office after he has attained the age of seventy years.

About Justice Tarun Chatterjee

• Justice Tarun Chatterjee, B.Sc., LL.B. was born on 14 January 1945. He was enrolled as an Advocate in 1970 and practiced in the High Court in Civil, Criminal and Revenue cases.
• He was appointed as a permanent Judge in the Calcutta High Court on 6 August 1990.
• He was Joined the Bar in the year 1970 and started practising in Calcutta High Court on Appellate jurisdiction and dealt with Civil and Constitutional matters.
• He was appointed as Judge in Calcutta High Court on 6 August 1990
• He was appointed as Chief Justice of the Allahabad High Court on 31 January 2003.
• He was appointed as Judge of Supreme Court on 27 August, 2004 and retired on 14 January 2010

Is this article important for exams ? Yes44 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: State Human Rights Commission

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK