Tarun Gogoi, the Chief Minister of Assam resigned

Tarun Gagoi, Chief Minister of Assam resigned due to abysmal performance of Congress in the state in the 16th Lok Sabha elections.

Created On: May 17, 2014 16:16 ISTModified On: May 17, 2014 17:54 IST

Tarun Gogoi, the three-time Chief Minister of Assam resigned from his office on 16 May 2014. He resigned taking the responsibility of dismal performance of Congress in the state in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Earlier during the 16th Lok Sabha elections he claimed that in case Congress fails to win at least 7 seats in the election then he would resign from the post. Congress was successful only in securing only 3 seats out of 14 in Assam.

The winner party of the Lok Sabha elections 2014, BJP garnered 7 seats in Assam.

About Tarun Gogoi
• As a member of Indian National Congress Tarun Gogoi served Assam as its Chief Minister three consecutive times since 2001
• He was born on 1 April 1936
• He served six terms as a Member of Parliament (MP) from Lok Sabha
• He was elected as Joint Secretary of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) in 1976 under Prime Minister Indira Gandhi
• Under former Prime Minister PV Narshimha Rao he served as Union Minister of State in the Food and Food Processing Industry departments (1991–96)

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

0 + 3 =