The Drowned Detective by Neil Jordan

Neil Jordan won an Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay for The Crying Game.

Created On: May 13, 2016 08:16 ISTModified On: May 13, 2016 09:18 IST

DDThe Drowned Detective: Neil Jordan

The Drowned Detective authored by Neil Jordan depicts genre-defying story about a private investigator who arrived in a small Eastern European city because he was told about the opportunities opening up in former Soviet countries.

The story moves as the detective sets up, along with a colleague from that country, an agency to trace missing people and criminals.


The book’s first few pages are about a wayward minister who cheats on his wife.

The minister is tracked by the detective whose name is Jonathan.

One day, an elderly couple approached Jonathan to investigate the disappearance of their daughter.

Jonathan feels compelled to find the daughter as the faded photograph of the little girl reminds him of his own daughter.

The story moves on as Jonathan encounters a young woman who jumped inside the river that divides the city.

Jonathan plunges in the river after the woman to only find himself dragged into her ghostly world of confusion, coincidence and intrigue.

Who is Neil Jordan?

Neil Patrick Jordan is an Irish film director, screenwriter and novelist.

He won an Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay for The Crying Game.

He also won the Silver Bear for Best Director at the Berlin International Film Festival for The Butcher Boy.

His other novels are: The Past, Night in Tunisia, Sunrise with Sea Monster among others.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

3 + 3 =