1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

UK announced first ever Dadabhai Naoroji Awards

Oct 21, 2014 15:10 IST

The UK government on 17 October 2014 announced the inaugural Dadabhai Naoroji Awards to honour individuals who have worked to strengthen the UK-India relationship over the years.

The awards were announced by the deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg.

The three winners included UK India Business Council chair Patricia Hewitt in the commerce category, Dame Asha Khemka for services in the field of education and actor Madhav Sharma for culture.

Over 80 nominations for the awards were received from members of the public.

After a shortlisting process agreed by a UK ministerial panel comprising David Laws, Hugo Swire, Lord Livingston, Greg Clarke and Ed Vaizey, Clegg selected the winner for each category.

The awards were judged by ministers following nominations from the public and were presented at a Foreign and Commonwealth Office reception at London.

Awards designer

The awards themselves were designed by Andrew Vickers. He is a prominent stone sculptor from the north of England who creates abstract and figurative sculptures in a variety of stone.

He took inspiration from the striking image of Dadabhai Naoroji, whose figure he has set upon a stone block.

The new awards are dedicated to Dadabhai Naoroji as the first Asian member of the British Parliament and the man who brought the first Indian business to the UK.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes83 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Dadabhai Naoroji awards , UK Government , UK-India relations

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK