US actor Harry Belafonte to receive Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Oscar Award

US actor and singer Harry Belafonte was named for  honorary Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Oscar Award on 29 August 2014.

US actor and singer Harry Belafonte was named for  honorary Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Oscar Award on 29 August 2014. Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Oscar Award is one of the three Governor's Award given by the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences for lifetime achievement.

The academy noted his films such as Carmen Jones, Odds Against Tomorrow and The World, the Flesh and the Devil strived to bring attention to the injustices of racism and inequality. He will recieve the award in November 2014.

Other winners
Besides, Academy awards also announced name of other winners of Governor's Award for 2014 given for lifetime achievement. The other winners are Japanese director Hayao Miyazaki, Irish-born actress Maureen O'Hara and French screenwriter and actor Jean-Claude Carriere.

73 year old Miyazaki is a renowned animator and co-founder of Studio Ghibli. He won the Oscar Award for best animated feature film in 2002 for Spirited Away. He earned his third Oscar nomination for The Wind Rises in 2014.

94 year old Maureen O'Hara is best known for films such as Miracle of 34th Street, Sinbad the Sailor, The Quiet Man and The Parent Trap.

82 year old Carriere began his career as a novelist before switching to film writing. He shared a screenwriting Oscar for the short Heureux Anniversaire in 1962.

About Harry Belafonte

Belafonte, also known as the King of Calypso, who has spent much of his life campaigning for various causes including Aids awareness, famine relief, education and civil rights. He was a supporter of the Civil Rights Movement and marched alongside Martin Luther King Jr. He was also named as a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador in 1987.

Academy's Governors Awards
The Governors Awards presentation is an annual award ceremony which is hosted by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) at the Grand Ballroom of the Hollywood and Highland Center. Three awards are presented at this ceremony:

• Academy Honorary Award
• Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award
• Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award

The honourees are selected in the month of September every year and they are presented with the award in November. All the awardees are further acknowledged at the year’s Academy Awards ceremony.

The first Governors Awards ceremony was held on 14 November 2009 which honoured Lauren Bacall, Roger Corman, and Gordon Willis with Academy Honorary Award.

Governors Awards 2013 was given to actors Eli Wallach and Lauren Bacall, Director Francis Ford Coppola, Angelina Jolie and Steve Martin.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Read the latest Current Affairs updates and download the Monthly Current Affairs PDF for UPSC, SSC, Banking and all Govt & State level Competitive exams here.
Jagran Play
खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर
Jagran PlayJagran PlayJagran PlayJagran Play

Monthly Current Affairs PDF

  • Current Affairs PDF August 2023
  • Current Affairs PDF July 2023
  • Current Affairs PDF June 2023
  • Current Affairs PDF May 2023
  • Current Affairs PDF April 2023
  • Current Affairs PDF March 2023
View all

Monthly Current Affairs Quiz PDF

  • Current Affairs Quiz PDF August 2023
  • Current Affairs Quiz PDF July 2023
  • Current Affairs Quiz PDF June 2023
  • Current Affairs Quiz PDF May 2023
  • Current Affairs Quiz PDF April 2023
  • Current Affairs Quiz PDF March 2023
View all