1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Veerappa Moily selected for Saraswati Samman 2014

Mar 10, 2015 09:09 IST

Former Union Minister and senior Congress leader M. Veerappa Moily on 9 March 2015 was selected for the prestigious Saraswati Samman for 2014 for his Kannada poem Ramayana Mahanveshanam.

Divided into five volumes, Ramayana Mahanveshanam was first published in 2007 in Kannada. Later the poem was translated into English, Hindi, Telugu and Tamil.

The selection for the award was made by a 13-member panel of scholars and writers headed by former Chief Justice of India RC Lahoti.

About poem Ramayana Mahaveshanam
In the poem Ramayana Mahaveshanam, Moily tried to explore the Ramarajya or the true principle of the ideal State from a secular and modern point of view in his collection of poems.
About Marpadi Veerappa Moily
• He is a senior Congress leader from Karnataka
• He served Karnataka as its Chief Minister between 1992 and 1994
• Moily handled many ministries in the previous UPA regime like Petroleum and Natural Gas, Corporate Affairs, Law and Justice
• Moliy who belong to Devadiga community was born 12 January 1940 in Marpadi Village, Moodbidri, Dakshina Kannada District, Karnataka
• 75-year-old Moily is an established writer in Kannada who has authored four novels, three collections of poetry, a number of plays and numerous essays. His novels includes
a) Kotta (made into telefilms in both Kannada and Hindi)
b) Tembare (translated into English under the title, The edge of time)
c) Suligali: Typhoon
d) Sagaradeepa: Ocean lamp
• His poems includes
a) Halu-Jenu Maththe
b) Nadeyali Samara
c) Yakshaprashne
• He has authored four volumes of an English book named Unleashing India

About Saraswati Samman
Saraswati Samman is an annual award that is given in recognition of outstanding prose or poetry literary works in Indian languages that are listed in Schedule VIII of the constitution of India. This Samman is given for the literary works of last 10 years. The award was established in 1991 by KK Birla Foundation and carries a prize amount of 10 lakh rupees along with citation and a plaque.

The KK Birla Foundation has instituted three awards in the field of literature. These are Saraswati Samman, Vyas Samman (for Hindi) and Bihari Puraskar (for Hindi and Rajasthani writers of Rajasthan).

On 23 September 2014, the Saraswati Samman 2013 was given to Govind Mishra, the renowned Hindi author for his novel Dhool Paudhon Par that was published in 2008.


Is this article important for exams ? Yes91 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Veerappa Moily , Saraswati Samman , Ramayana Mahanveshanam , RC Lahoti

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK