1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Vijay Bahuguna, the Chief Minister of Uttrakhand resigned

Jan 31, 2014 15:30 IST

Vijay BahugunaVijay Bahuguna, the Chief Minister of Uttrakhand submitted his resignation to the Governor of the state on 31 January 2014 in Dehradun. The resignation follows a meeting of senior party leaders of the party in Delhi on 29 January 2014 that was headed by Congress President, Sonia Gandhi.

Bahuguna submitted his resignation a day before the visit of the observers (namely Ghulam Nabi Azad, Janardan Dwivedi and Ambika Soni) of Congress in the state. The observers of the state will attend a Congress Legislature Party meeting in which the new leader will be elected.

Congress party that leads the state have 33 members in the State Assembly and it is supported by 7 members of Progressive Democratic Front including 3 members from BSP, 3 independents and 1 MLA from Uttarakhand Kranti Dal.

Is this article important for exams ? Yes226 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK