Modi Cabinet 2.0: Six Women Ministers include Smriti Irani, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Nirmala Sitharaman

Recently formed Modi Cabinet 2.0 have included three women leaders - Nirmala Sitharaman, Smriti Irani and Harsimrat Kaur Badal. See the complete list of women Cabinet Ministers in new Modi government.

Created On: May 31, 2019 14:30 ISTModified On: May 31, 2019 14:31 IST
Smriti Irani, Harsimrat Kaur and Nirmala Sitharaman took oath as Cabinet Ministers.

Modi Cabinet 2.0 has repeated three women leaders - Nirmala Sitharaman, Smriti Irani and Harsimrat Kaur Badal. To know the complete list of women ministers in new Modi government read this article thoroughly.

17th Lok Sabha cabinet oath-taking ceremony have witnessed Nirmala Sitharaman, Smriti Irani, Harsimrat Kaur Badal in cabinet. They may join ministers in-charge of portfolios such as Foreign affairs, women and child development, and Ganga Sanitation ministry.

Previous NDA cabinet had Nirmala Sitharaman as Defence Minister, Smriti Irani as I&B (also textile minister), Sushma Swaraj as foreign minister, Uma Bharati as drinking water and sanitation minister, Akali Dal leader Harsimrat Kaur as food processing industries minister and Maneka Gandhi as women and child development minister. Najma Heptulla, served as minister of minority affairs but later she was dropped in after a reshuffle.

Women Cabinet Ministers in Modi Cabinet 2.0

S. No.


Ministry Allocated


Nirmala Sitharaman

Ministry of Finance; and Ministry of Corporate Affairs


Smriti Irani

Ministry of Women and Child Development; and Ministry of Textile


Harsimrat Kaur Badal

Minister of Food Processing Industries

Women State Ministers in Modi Cabinet 2.0

S. No.


Ministry Allocated


Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti

Ministry of State in the Ministry of Rural Development


Renuka Singh

Ministry of State in the Ministry of Tribal Affairs


Debasree Chaudhuri

Ministry of State in the Ministry of Women and Child Development.

Women Ministers in Modi Cabinet 2.0

1. Nirmala Sitharaman

2. Harsimrat Kaur Badal

3. Smriti Irani

Women Ministers of State in Modi Cabinet 2.0

1. Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti

2. Renuka Singh Saruta

3. Debasree Chaudhuri

Women ministers in 16th Lok Sabha Cabinet

Nirmala Sitharaman

Nirmala Sitharaman served as the Minister of Defence of India in 16th Lok Sabha. She has served as Member of the Rajya Sabha, upper house of the Indian Parliament, since 2016. On September 3, 2017, she was elevated to Defence Minister, being only the second woman after Indira Gandhi to hold the Defence Minister post.

Sushma Swaraj

Sushma Swaraj was appointed as the Minister of External Affairs of India on 26 May 2014. She was the second woman who was holding the office, after Indira Gandhi. She has been elected seven times as a Member of Parliament and three times as a Member of the Legislative Assembly. At the age of 25 in 1977, she became the youngest cabinet minister of north Indian state of Haryana.

Smriti Irani

Smriti Irani is a prominent leader of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), she is a Member of Parliament in the Lok Sabha, representing Amethi. On May 26, 2014, she was appointed as the Minister of Human Resource Development (MoHRD). In July 2016 she was given the Ministry of Textiles after cabinet reshuffle. In July 2017, she was handed the additional charge of Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (India) when Former Minister M.Venkaiah Naidu resigned from the Ministry to take part in Vice Presidential Elections.

Uma Bharti

Uma Bharti served as the Cabinet Minister for Drinking Water and Sanitation in the Union Government of India during 16th Lok Sabha. After Narendra Modi became the Indian Prime Minister in 2014, she was appointed the Minister for Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation, and held this office until September 2017. She became the Minister of drinking water and sanitation on September 3, 2017.

Maneka Gandhi

Maneka Gandhi was the Indian Union Cabinet Minister for Women and Child Development in the 16th Lok Sabha government. At present she is Member of Lok Sabha from Sultanpur (Lok Sabha constituency), elected on a Bharatiya Janata Party ticket.

Harsimrat Kaur Badal

Harsimrat Kaur Badal was holding post of Union Cabinet Minister of Food Processing in the 16th Lok Sabha cabinet. Harsimrat was elected as an MP from Bathinda in 2014. She defeated Indian National Congress-People's Party of Punjab joint candidate, Manpreet Singh Badal. She was appointed in the first term of Modi government as Union Minister for Food Processing.

Najma Heptulla

Najma Heptulla took oath as a cabinet minister in the Narendra Modi headed government on 26 May 26, 2014. She was holding Ministry of Minority Affairs but later was replaced by Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi in July 2016.


Also Read: PM Modi Swearing-In Oath Ceremony Live Updates: Punjab CM Amarinder Singh not to attend ceremony

Also Read: Pro-tem Speaker: Santosh Gangwar likely to be appointed as Pro-tem Speaker

Also Read: ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Also Read: High Profile Guest list of PM Modi's swearing-in ceremony includes SRK, Kangana Ranaut, Ambani, IMF chief and many more

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Related Stories

Post Comment

9 + 4 =