Zakir Naik won King Faisal International Prize for the year 2015

The awards were announced by Mecca Governor Prince Khaled Al-Faisal and KFIP Secretary-General Abdullah Al-Othaimeen. Zaik is an international preacher on Islam and president of the Islamic Research Foundation of India.

Feb 6, 2015 14:14 IST
facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Dr. Zakir A. Naik, the founder and President of the Islamic Research Foundation of India on 3 February 2015 won the King Faisal International Prize (KFIP) for the year 2015. Naik, an international preacher on Islam was awarded for Service to Islam.

Winner names were announced at Al-Khozama Center in Riyadh by Mecca Governor Prince Khaled Al-Faisal and KFIP Secretary-General Abdullah Al-Othaimeen. Naik and four others were chosen for the prestigious award for their services. Winners in different categories are

Prize for Science (Chemistry): Co-winners are two internationally acclaimed scholars of chemistry, Professor Omar Mwannes Yaghi from the United States and Professor Michael Gratzel from Switzerland. Yaghi was awarded for his seminal contributions in the field of metal organic frameworks (MOFs). Gratzel was awarded for his foundational and practical discoveries in the development of photo-electrochemical systems for solar energy conversion.
Prize for Islamic studies: Dr. Abdul Aziz bin Abdul Rahman Kaki, a consultant at Madinah Development Authority in recognition for his distinguished research on the cultural heritage of Al-Madinah Al-Munwwarah.
Prize  for Medicine: Prof. Jeffrey Ivan Gordon from the US in recognition of his seminal work on defining the microbiomes genomic and metabolic role in human health.

The Arabic language and literature prize was withheld as none of the nominees met the criteria laid down by the selection committee for 2015.

Each prize consists of a handwritten Arabic certificate that summarises the laureate’s work, a commemorative 24-carat, 200-gram gold medal and a cash award of 7.5 Lakh Saudi Riyal. The co-winners in any category share the monetary grant.

King Faisal International Prize (KFIP)

The King Faisal International Prize (KFIP) is one of the most important events of the King Faisal Foundation (KFF), a philanthropic organization established in 1976 by the sons and daughters of the late King Faisal bin Abdulaziz in commemoration of their father. The General Secretariat in 1976 decided to incept an international prize in the name of King Faisal. The Prize started with three branches; Service to Islam, Islamic Studies and Arabic Language and Literature which were granted for the first time in 1979. The prize in the field of Medicine and Science were added in the list in 1981 and 1982, respectively.

KFIP Objectives

• Ingraining Islamic values and ideals in the society and highlighting them to the world
• Serving Islam and Muslims culturally, intellectually and practically
• Benefiting Muslims in their present and future, and inspiring them to develop and participate in all aspects of civilization
• Contributing to the development of mankind and enriching human knowledge


Download our Current Affairs & GK app For exam preparation

डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए