1. Home
  2.  |  
  4.  |  
  5. India: An Overview
  6.  |  
  7. National Organisations

General Knowledge for Competitive Exams

Read: General Knowledge | General Knowledge Lists | Overview of India | Countries of World

What is the difference between Anganwadi workers, ANM and ASHA- Check all details here

Dec 1, 2020
Community Health workers are major role players in the promotion of reproductive health services and antenatal and postnatal care of women and children. Check out the difference between ASHA, Anganwadi and Auxiliary Nurse Midwife workers or ASHA, ANM and AWW workers here

How Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) Controls Capital Market of India?

Aug 22, 2019
The Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI), was initially constituted on April 12, 1988 as a non contributory body through  a resolution of the government for dealing with all matters related to development and regulation of securities market and investor protection and to advice the government on all these matters. SEBI was given statutory status and powers through an ordinance promulgated on January 30, 1992.

Chandrayan I: India's First Lunar Probe

Jun 21, 2019
Chandrayaan-1 was India's first lunar probe. It was launched by the Indian Space Research Organisation in October 2008, and operated until August 2009. The mission included a lunar orbiter and an impactor. It was launched  from Satish Dhawan Space Centre, Sriharikota, by the PSLV C-11 on 22 October 2008. The spacecraft was orbiting around the Moon at a height of 100 km from the lunar surface for chemical, mineralogical and photo-geologic mapping of the Moon.

How Reserve Bank of India (RBI) Manages the Monetary System of the Country?

Feb 15, 2016
The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) was established on April 1, 1935 in accordance with the provisions of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934. The Central Office of the Reserve Bank was initially established in Calcutta but was permanently moved to Mumbai in 1937. RBI is the top monetary authority in the country, it prints currency notes (except one rupee note) and distributes them through commercial banks in the country. So R.B.I. decides the supply of money in the whole economy.

Why NITI Ayog replaced Planning Commission?

Feb 10, 2016
In accordance with a key announcement made by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Independence Day, the Union Government established NITI Aayog (National Institution for Transforming India) on Jan. 1, 2015, as replacement for the Planning Commission. This comes after extensive consultation across the spectrum of stakeholders, including state governments, domain experts and relevant institutions.

Types of Satellites Launched by ISRO

Feb 4, 2016
A satellite is a moon, planet or machine that orbits a planet or star. For example, Earth is a satellite because it orbits the sun. Likewise, the moon is a satellite because it orbits Earth. Usually, the word "satellite" refers to a machine that is launched into space and moves around Earth or another body in space. There are so many types of satellites like: Communication Satellites, Earth Observation Satellites, Navigation satellites, scientific & Exploration satellites, experimental satellites, small satellites etc launched by ISRO.

Different Indian Space Launch Vehicles

Feb 4, 2016
Launch Vehicles are used to transport and put satellites or spacecrafts into space. In India, the launch vehicles development programme began in the early 1970s. The first experimental Satellite Launch Vehicle (SLV-3) was developed in 1980. An Augmented version of this, ASLV, was launched successfully in 1992. India has made tremendous strides in launch vehicle technology to achieve self-reliance in satellite launch vehicle programme with the operationalisation of Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) and Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV).

Milestones in Indian Space Programmes

Feb 1, 2016
India has launched 81 Indian satellites (as of 20 January 2016) of many types since its first in 1975. Satellites have been launched from various vehicles, including those launched by American, Russian and European rockets, as well as those launched indigenously by India.The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) is responsible for India's satellite programs.

List of Satellites Launched by ISRO

Feb 1, 2016
ISRO has launched more than 50 satellites for various scientific and technological applications like mobile communications, Direct-to-Home services, meteorological observations, telemedicine, Tele- education, disaster warning, radio networking, search and rescue operations, remote sensing and scientific studies of the space. ISRO has established two major space systems, INSAT for series of communication and Indian Remote Sensing (IRS) for resource monitoring & management.

Contribution of Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) in Indian Defence

Feb 1, 2016
The Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO) was established in 1958 by amalgamating the Technical Development Establishment and the Directorate of Technical Development and Production with the Defence Science Organisation. It is under the administrative control of the Ministry of Defence, Government of India headquartered in New Delhi. It works with a network of 52 laboratories, which are engaged in developing defence technologies covering various fields, like aeronautics, armaments, electronics, land combat engineering, life sciences, materials, missiles, and naval systems.
Jagran Play
रोमांचक गेम्स खेलें और जीतें एक लाख रुपए तक कैश

Register to get FREE updates

  • All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

Get App