1. Home
  2.  |  
  4.  |  
  5. Events
  6.  |  
  7. Events 2009
  8.  |  
  9. Sports in 2009

General Knowledge for Competitive Exams

Read: General Knowledge | General Knowledge Lists | Overview of India | Countries of World

Hima Das: Biography and International Records

Jul 22, 2019
Hima Das nicknamed the Dhing Express, is an Indian sprinter from the state of Assam. Dhing is a town in Nagaon district in the state of Assam; that is the reason she is called “Dhing Express”. Hima Das holds the current Indian national record in the 400 metres. Hima has won a gold medal in the 400 m final at the World U-20 Championships 2018 held at Tampere (Finland). She is the first Indian to win a gold medal at an international track event.

M.S. Dhoni: International records as Batsman, Captain and Wicket Keeper

Jul 17, 2019
M.S Dhoni is the only Indian captain who have brought two World Cups to India. One world cup was of T-20 World Cup in 2007 and another was 50 over format in 2011. Dhoni is considered as the most successful captain of the Indian ODI team. During his captaincy the success rate of Indian team was around 60%. Although the success rate of Kohli is around 76%.

Joe Root: Complete List of International Records

Jul 14, 2019
Joe Root is an English cricketer and the current captain of the England Test team. Root is in good form in the current world cup 2019. He has scored 549 runs in the current world cup 2019. In his ODI career he has scored 5849 with the help of 16 centuries and 33 half centuries.Joe root started his career against India in all the three formats.

England vs New Zealand head to head in World Cups

Jul 14, 2019
The much awaited final of the ICC cricket World Cup 2019 will be played at Lord’s London ground on 14th July 2019. Both the finalist (England and New Zealand) have not won the World Cup tournament so far. This would be 4th final for the England and 2nd final for the New Zealand.

List of Biographies and Autobiographies of famous Cricketers

Jul 12, 2019
There are many famous cricketers have written their autobiography and biograpy after their retirement from the cricket. The name of autobiography of Sachin Tendulkar is “Playing it My Way” while the biography (Sunny Days) of Sunil Gavaskar is written by the M.L. Jaisimha

India vs New Zealand: Head to Head Cricket World Cup records

Jul 8, 2019
There are 106 ODI matches played between India and New Zealand. Out of these 106 matches India has won 55 matches while New Zealand has won 45 matches. So it is very clear that Indian team has an edge over the New Zealand. In the ICC cricket world cup 7 matches are played between these two teams out of which India has won 3 while New Zealand won 4 matches.

List of Indian Cricketers inducted in the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame,ICC Hall of Fame

Jul 1, 2019
The International Cricket Council releases list of legendary players inducted in the ICC hall of fame every year.The Hall of Fame list was launched by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in Dubai on 2 January 2009, in association with the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA). Till date there are 6 Indians have been inducted in this prestigious list. Sachin Tendulkar is the latest inductee Indian in this list.

World Badminton Championship

Dec 13, 2010
The 17th World Badminton Championship was held in Hyderabad between 10 and 16 August. It was the first ever World Championships event to take place in India. Badminton England withdrew before the first round due to a perceived threat of terror against the team.

Women's World Cup

Dec 13, 2010
The 2009 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup was the ninth edition of the tournament. It was held in Australia between 7 and 22 March. England clinched the cup beating New Zealand by 4 wickets in final.

Australian Open

Dec 13, 2010
Spain’s Rafael Nadal became the first Spaniard ever to win the Australian Open. He defeated Switzerland’s Roger Federer in a five-set epic to win the men’s singles title. Nadal beat Federer 7-5, 3-6, 7-6, 3-6, 6-2. This was his sixth Grand Slam title and first on hard courts.


Dec 13, 2010

National Table Tennis Championship

Dec 13, 2010
The 70th Senior National Table Tennis Championship was held in the month of January in Patna. Achanta Sharath Kamal retained the men’s singles title while K. Shamini became women’s singles champion.

Sports Personalities

Dec 13, 2010

ICC Awards

Dec 13, 2010
The ICC Awards were presented on October 1 in Johannesburg, South Africa. These awards were given on the performance of the players between 13 August 2008 and 24 August 2009. The following were the winners in different categories.


Dec 13, 2010
The IBSF World Snooker Championship is the premier nonprofessional snooker tournament in the world. The 2009 event was held from November 15 and 25 in Hyderabad, India.

Ranji Trophy

Dec 13, 2010
Mumbai won their 38th Ranji Trophy title beating Uttar Pradesh in final. They asserted their supremacy by thrashing UP with a huge 243-run margin.

Indian team No.1 in Test

Dec 13, 2010
The Indian team performed quite well this year and completed the story that started last year. The 'men in blue' were at No.2 in ICC Test rankings in the end of 2008.

ICC Champions Trophy

Dec 13, 2010
The sixth ICC Champions Trophy was held from 22 September to 5 October in South Africa.


Dec 13, 2010

Formula-One Championship

Dec 13, 2010
The 2009 Formula-One Championship was the 60th FIA Formula One World Championship. The season started on 29 March and ended on November 1. Britain’s Jenson Button won the Drivers Championship with 95 points.

12 Next   

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below