1. Home
  2.  |  
  4.  |  
  5. Events
  6.  |  
  7. Events 2009
  8.  |  
  9. Sports in 2009

General Knowledge for Competitive Exams

Read: General Knowledge | General Knowledge Lists | Overview of India | Countries of World

Tokyo 2020 Olympics (2020 Summer Olympics): Here's all you need to know about the 'Games of the XXXII Olympiad'

Jul 22, 2021
Tokyo 2020 Olympics (2020 Summer Olympics): The Tokyo 2020 Olympics is an international sports event that will be held from 23 July to 8 August 2021, in the city of Tokyo, Japan. This article precisely describes the Tokyo 2020 Olympics schedule, list of Indian athletes qualified for Tokyo 2020 Olympics, participating nations, mascot, games and sports to be played at Tokyo Olympics 2020. 

UEFA EURO Cup Winners (2021-1960): Italy won the European 2020 Championship by Defeating England in Penalty Shootout (3-2)

Jul 12, 2021
UEFA EURO Cup Winners (2021-1960): Italy won the European 2020 Championship by Defeating England in Penalty Shootout (3-2). UEFA EURO 2020 was held in 11 major cities of Europe. Check the List of Winners of the UEFA European Championship (1960-2021).

Wimbledon Women’s Singles Winners List 2021: Ashleigh Barty from Australia won the Grand Slam 2021 Ladies' Tennis Championship Title

Jul 11, 2021
Wimbledon Women’s Singles Winners List 2021: Check the list of winners of the Wimbledon Championship for Women’s Singles category. Ashleigh Barty from Australia won the Grand Slam Title 2021 Tennis Championship.

Wimbledon 2021 Men’s Singles Winners List: Novak Djokovic won his 6th Wimbledon Gentlemen's Tennis Championship, 20th Grand Slam Title

Jul 11, 2021
Wimbledon 2021 Men’s Singles Winners List: Check the List of winners of the Wimbledon Championship for the Men’s Singles category. Novak Djokovic won his 6th Grand Slam Wimbledon Tennis Championship Title.

M.S. Dhoni: International records as Batsman, Captain, Wicket-Keeper, Bowler and Birthday

Jul 7, 2021
From trending #HappyBirthdayDhoni to sharing posts on social media, M.S. Dhoni fans and the cricket fraternity are doing it all to wish legendary cricketer on his birthday. 

Khelo India Youth Games 2021: Know about Kalaripayattu, Gatka, Mallakhamba and Thang-Ta

Dec 22, 2020
The Sports Ministry has recently approved the inclusion of four Indigenous Games to be included in Khelo India Youth Games 2021 namely Gatka, Kalaripayattu, Thang-Ta and Mallakhamba- Know about each of them here

List of National Sports Awards 2020 Winners

Aug 28, 2020
National Sports Awards 2020: The Government of India announced the National Sports Awards 2020 on 22 August, 2020. It is conferred to the sports personalities in India. For the Arjuna award, this year 27 sportsperson have been selected. Let us have a look at the complete list of the winners of the National Sports Awards 2020.

List of Cricketers who have scored 10,000 runs in Test Matches

May 28, 2020
As of now,13 cricketers have scored more than 10,000 runs in the test cricket. Indian Sunil Gavaskar was the first player who scored 10,000 runs in Test matches.

Rohit Sharma vs Virat Kohli: Batting Records Comparison

Apr 29, 2020
Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are the most talented cricket players in International cricket. Everybody wants to know who is a better batsman, Rohit Sharma or Virat Kohli? This article is based on the comparison of the performance of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli.

India vs New Zealand: Head to Head Cricket World Cup records

Feb 5, 2020
India and New Zealand have played 107 head to head ODIs so far. The Indian team has won 55 ODIs while New Zealand manages to won 46 matches. In the ICC cricket world cup, 8 matches are played between these two teams out of which India has won 3 while New Zealand won 5 matches.

List of 24 records of the One day International Cricket

Jan 10, 2020
Sachin Tendulkar has the records of the highest number of ODI runs, centuries and matches. Record of fastest century in the ODI is held by the AB de Villiers. Read this article to know the list of 23 records of the One day International Cricket.

List of Centuries in T20 International Cricket

Dec 11, 2019
There are 55 centuries have been scored by 42 different players in the T20I matches. Rohit Sharma leading with 4 centuries in this format. The fastest century in T20I is also scored by the Rohit Sharma and David miller in just 35 balls each.

Hima Das: Biography and International Records

Jul 22, 2019
Hima Das nicknamed the Dhing Express, is an Indian sprinter from the state of Assam.  Dhing is a town in Nagaon district in the state of Assam; that is the reason she is called “Dhing Express”. Hima Das holds the current Indian national record in the 400 metres. Hima has won a gold medal in the 400 m final at the World U-20 Championships 2018 held at Tampere (Finland). She is the first Indian to win a gold medal at an international track event.

Joe Root: Complete List of International Records

Jul 14, 2019
Joe Root is an English cricketer and the current captain of the England Test team. Root is in good form in the current world cup 2019. He has scored 549 runs in the current world cup 2019. In his ODI career he has scored 5849 with the help of 16 centuries and 33 half centuries.Joe root started his career against India in all the three formats.

England vs New Zealand head to head in World Cups

Jul 14, 2019
The much awaited final of the ICC cricket World Cup 2019 will be played at Lord’s London ground on 14th July 2019. Both the finalist (England and New Zealand) have not won the World Cup tournament so far. This would be 4th final for the England and 2nd final for the New Zealand.

List of Biographies and Autobiographies of famous Cricketers

Jul 12, 2019
There are many famous cricketers have written their autobiography and biograpy after their retirement from the cricket. The name of autobiography of Sachin Tendulkar is “Playing it My Way” while the biography (Sunny Days) of Sunil Gavaskar is written by the M.L. Jaisimha  

List of Indian Cricketers inducted in the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame,ICC Hall of Fame

Jul 1, 2019
The International Cricket Council releases list of legendary players inducted in the ICC hall of fame every year.The  Hall of Fame list was launched by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in Dubai on 2 January 2009, in association with the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA). Till date there are 6 Indians have been inducted in this prestigious list. Sachin Tendulkar is the latest inductee Indian in this list.

World Badminton Championship

Dec 13, 2010
The 17th World Badminton Championship was held in Hyderabad between 10 and 16 August. It was the first ever World Championships event to take place in India. Badminton England withdrew before the first round due to a perceived threat of terror against the team.

Women's World Cup

Dec 13, 2010
The 2009 ICC Women’s Cricket  World Cup was the ninth edition of the tournament. It was held in Australia between 7 and 22 March. England clinched the cup beating New Zealand by 4 wickets in final.

Australian Open

Dec 13, 2010
Spain’s Rafael Nadal became the first Spaniard ever to win the Australian Open. He defeated Switzerland’s Roger Federer in a five-set epic to win the men’s singles title. Nadal beat Federer 7-5, 3-6, 7-6, 3-6, 6-2. This was his sixth Grand Slam title and first on hard courts.

123 Next   

Jagran Play
रोमांचक गेम्स खेलें और जीतें एक लाख रुपए तक कैश

Register to get FREE updates

  • All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

Get App