GK Questions and Answers on Indian Parliament

The Indian Parliament comprises of the President and the two Houses namely Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. On 26 January,1950, the Constitution of India came into force. The President has the power to summon and prorogue either House of Parliament or to dissolve Lok Sabha. In 1951-52, the first general elections under the new Constitution were held and in April 1952, the first elected Parliament came into existence. Let us solve GK quiz on the Parliament of India.

1. What is the minimum age for holding office in the Lok Sabha?

A. 18 Years

B. 21 years

C. 25 Years

D. 30 years

Ans: C

2. A motion of no confidence against the Government can be introduced in:

A. Rajya Sabha

B. Lok Sabha

C. Both A & B

D. Neither A nor B

Ans: B

3. How many sessions of the Lok Sabha take place in a year?

A. 2

B. 3

C. 4

D. 5

Ans: B

4. Which of the following are not sessions of the Lok Sabha?

A. Budget Session

B. Monsoon Session

C. Summer Session

D. Winter Session

Ans: C

5. The budget is also known as:

A. Annual Financial Statement

B. Monthly Financial Statement

C. Receipt and Expenditure Statement

D. Taxation Statement

Ans: A

6. The Parliament of India consists of the following:

A. President

B. Lok Sabha & Rajya Sabha

C. Both A and B

D. None of the above

Ans: C

7. Who decides whether a bill is a Money Bill or not?

A. President

B. Prime Minister

C. Speaker of the Lok Sabha

D. Finance Minister

Ans: C

8. The Federal structure of Government of India provides:

A. Two-tier system

B. Three-tier system

C. Four-tier system

D. None of the above

Ans: B

9. Who is known as the Father of Lok Sabha?

A. G V Mavalankar

B. Rabi Ray

C. P A Sangma

D. Balram Jakhar

Ans: A

10. Indian Parliamentary System is based on which model?

A. Westminster model

B. Welfare State model

C. Both A & B

D. Neither A nor B

Ans: A

500+ GK Questions & Answers on Indian Polity & Governance

Related Categories


View More