JagranJosh Education Awards 2023: Meet our Jury!

List of IPL Winners (2008-2022)

List of IPL winners (2008-2022): With IPL 2022 starting at 7:30 pm today, it will be interesting to witness who takes the coveted IPL trophy home. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the defending champions of the Indian Premier League (IPL) while five-time champions Mumbai Indians (MI) is so far the most successful team of IPL. Check the complete list of IPL winners from 2008 to 2021 below.
Chennai Super Kings: IPL 2021 Winner Team

IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2022: IPL 2022 will commence today at 7:30 pm, with the last match of the league stage scheduled for May 29. The 15th edition of the IPL will be played across four venues in Mumbai and Pune, and will be a 10-team affair. The schedule for playoffs and final will be announced later by BCCI. 

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the defending champions while Mumbai Indians (MI) is by far the most successful team of IPL, having won the title five times. Let us have a look at the complete list of IPL winners from 2008 to 2022 below. 

Also Read | IPL 2022 Schedule: Check TATA IPL 2022 Schedule, Teams, Groups, Venues, Timings, and More

List of IPL Winners and Runner ups (2008-2022)

 Season/Stadium (Final Match)

Winner Team

Runner up Team

Player of the Match

 2008, DY Patil Stadium

Rajasthan Royals (RR)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Yusuf Pathan

 2009, Wanderers Stadium (South Africa)

Deccan Chargers (DC)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Anil Kumble

 2010, DY Patil Stadium

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Suresh Raina

 2011, M. A. Chidambaram Stadium

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Murali Vijay

 2012, M. A. Chidambaram  Stadium

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Manvinder Bisla

 2013, Eden Gardens

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Kieron Pollard

 2014, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP)

Manish Pandey

 2015, Eden Gardens

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Rohit Sharma

 2016, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

Royal Challengers  Bangalore (RCB)

Ben Cutting

 2017, Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS)

Krunal Pandya

 2018, Wankhede Stadium

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

Shane Watson

2019, Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad Mumbai Indians (MI) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Jasprit Bumrah
2020, Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai  Mumbai Indians (MI) Delhi Capitals (DC) Trent Boult
2021, Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai  Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Faf du Plessis
2022 To be announced To be announced To be announced

Also Read | IPL Retention 2022: Check the complete list of players retained and released by the franchises

IPL 2022 winner

With the onset of IPL 2022, people are eyeing defending Champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) as they make an effort to maintain their streak under the captaincy of Ravindra Jadeja while Mumbai Indians (MI) will strive hard to take the coveted trophy home. The newly added teams, Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and Gujarat Titans (GT) will also endeavour to make their inaugural IPL season memorable. 

IPL 2021 winner

To date, 14 seasons of the IPL have been held successfully. The final of Vivo IPL 2021 was played between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) on October 15, 2021.  KKR won the toss and opted to bowl in the IPL final against CSK at the  Dubai International Stadium. CSK beat KKR by 27 runs in IPL to gain their fourth Indian Premier League title.

The 13th edition of the IPL was played in UAE from 19 September 2020 till 10 November 2020. It was originally scheduled for March 29, 2020, but was suspended until April 15 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. On August 2, 2020, BCCI announced that the tournament will be played in UAE from  September 19, 2020, to November 10, 2020. 

About Indian Premier League (IPL)

IPL or the Indian Premier League is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India. Indian Premier League (IPL) is governed by the Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) in India. 


Batting (All-Time)
Orange Cap/Most Runs Virat Kohli (5878)
Most Sixes Chris Gayle (349)
Most Sixes (innings) Chris Gayle (17)
Highest Individual Score Chris Gayle (175*)
Highest Strike Rates Andre Russell (182.33)
Highest Strike Rates (innings) Krunal Pandya (500.00)
Highest Averages Ruturaj Gaikwad (51.00)
Most Fifties David Warner (48)
Most Centuries Chris Gayle (6)
Most Fours Shikhar Dhawan (588)
Fastest Fifties (innings) KL Rahul (14 Balls)
Fastest Centuries (innings) Chris Gayle (30 Balls)


Bowling (All-Time)
Purple Cap/Most Wickets Lasith Malinga (170)
Best Bowling Figures

Alzarri Joseph 

(3.4 overs; 12 runs; 6 wickets)

Best Averages Kagiso Rabada (17.86)
Best Economy Rates Rashid Khan (6.24)
Best Strike Rates (innings) Suresh Raina (1.50)
Best Strike Rates (tournament) Kagiso Rabada (13.10)
Most Runs Conceded (innings) Basil Thampi (70)
Most Hat-Tricks Amit Mishra (3)
Most Dot Balls Bowled (tournament) Harbhajan Singh (1,249)
Most Number of Maiden Overs Bowled Praveen Kumar (14)
Most Four Wickets in an Innings Sunil Narine (6)

16 Records you need to know about IPL 2019

How Bowling Speed is calculated in Cricket Matches?

List of highest wicket-takers in Indian Premier League (IPL)


Who has hit most sixes in IPL?

Chris Gayle is the leading six-hitter in the IPL with 349 sixes.

Did RCB won IPL?

The Royal Challengers have never won the IPL. Although RCB finished runners-up on three occasions between 2009 and 2016.

Who is the No 1 team in IPL?

Mumbai Indians hold the current champion title of IPL.

How many times Mumbai Indians has won the IPL?

Mumbai Indians (MI) has won the Indian Premier League (IPL) five times followed by three times winner Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

Who won IPL 2021?

IPL 2021 was won by Chennai Super Kings (CSK) while Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) were the runner up team.

Related Categories

खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर

Live users reading now

Result Updates