List of Double Centuries in ODI Cricket, 200 Runs in ODI

200 runs in ODI: Till date 10 double centuries have been scored in the One day International (ODIs) cricket. Rohit Sharma is the highest individual run scorer (264 runs) in the ODIs. Rohit is the only player who has scored 3 double centuries in the One-day International matches. Read this article to know the list of all double century scorers in the ODI matches.
Players with double centuries in ODIs

List of Double Century in ODI Cricket: There was a time when scoring a double century in the One Day International (ODI) match was just like a dream. But Belinda Clark of Australia was the first cricketer who achieved this feat and scored 229* runs against Denmark on 16 December 1997. 

Sachin Tendulkar was the first male cricketer who scored the first double century (200*) in the ODI against South Africa in 2010. 

To date, 10 cricketers have scored 10 double centuries in the ODIs that includes 5 Indian batsmen. 

In the recent bilateral ODI series between India and New Zealand, Indian batsman Shubman Gill scored a double century and hit five sixes in five balls.  Additionally, he is the fastest Indian cricketer to have scored 1000 runs in ODI. 

The list of cricketers who have scored a double century in the ODI is:

Player List

200+ Runs


1. Rohit Sharma

264 (Highest)

Sri Lanka, 2014

2. Martin Guptill


West Indies, March 2015

3. Amelia Kerr


Ireland, June 2018

4. Belinda Clark

229* (First female)

Denmark, December 1997

5. Virender Sehwag


West Indies, December 2011

6. Chris Gayle


Zimbabwe, February 2015

7. Fakhar Zaman


Zimbabwe, July 2018

8. Ishan Kishan 210 Bangladesh, December, 2022

9. Rohit Sharma


Australia, November 2013

10. Rohit Sharma


Sri Lanka December 2017

11. Shubman Gill


New Zealand 2023

12. Sachin Tendulkar


South Africa, February 2010

Records of centuries and double centuries in ODI

  • The first fifty of ODI matches was scored by John Edrich (England) against Australia. He scored 82 runs at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on 5 January 1971.
  • Dennis Amiss (England) was the first cricketer who scored the first century in ODI cricket. He scored the first century (103) of ODI history against Australia on 24 August 1972.
  • Rohit Sharma is the highest individual run scorer (264 runs) in the ODIs.
  • The record of the fastest double century in ODI is held by Ishan Kishan.  Earlier, this record was held by Chris Gayle, but Ishan recently shattered the record by hitting the fastest century ever in the history of ODI. In the final and third ODI match of the series opposite Bangladesh at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittogram, the man notched up a fantastic double century off just 126 balls. He became the seventh batsman in the world to achieve the milestone after Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, and Virender Sehwag.
  • Vivian Richards was the first player who scored 180 plus score in the ODI in 1984. But this record was broken by Gary Kirsten who scored 188* runs against the United Arab Emirates on 16 February 1996.
  • Saeed Anwar (Pakistan) was the first player who entered into the 190 plus score in ODI. Anwar's record of 194 runs against India on 21 May 1997 remained intact till December 1997. This record was broken by the Australian woman cricketer Belinda Clark. She cracked the 200-plus mark and scored unbeaten 229 runs against Denmark at the MIG Club Ground, Mumbai.  With his smashing innings of 208 runs, Shubman Gill has become the 5th Indian player to have scored a double century in ODIS. 

So this was the list of all double centuries in the ODI cricket. I hope, more double centuries would be scored by Indian batsmen in the near future. 

To read more related articles click below,


Who has scored the highest double century?

Indian Captain and prolific batsman Rohit Sharma has scored the highest double century with 264 runs.

Which Indian players have scored a double century in ODIs?

Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, Virendra Sehwag, Ishan Kishan, and Shubman Gill are the players from India to score a double century in ODIs.

Who scored the first double century in ODI cricket?

Indian batsman Sachin Tendulkar scored the first double century in ODI cricket in 2010.

Related Categories

खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर

Live users reading now

Result Updates