List of Lt. Governor & Administrator of the Union Territories of India

As of now India has 29 states and 7 Union Territories. All the 29 sates of India are headed by the governor of the respective state but the Union Territories are governed by the Lieutenant Governors or administrators.

The head of the UTs i.e. Lieutenant Governor or administrator is the representative of the President of India in the respective Union Territory. The head of the UTs is appointed by the President of India.

In India three Union Territories namely Delhi, Puducherry and Andaman and Nicobar Island are governed by the Lieutenant Governor while rest of the UTs are governed by the Administrator. In this article we are publishing the names of all the heads of the Union Territories of the India.

State Animals and Birds of India

List of heads of all the Union Territories of the India is as follows (as on 19 June 2018);


Union Territory

Lt. Governor & Administrator


Dadra and Nagar Haveli

Shri Praful Patel (Administrator)



Shri.V.P. Singh Badnore (Administrator)


Daman and Diu

Shri Praful Patel (Administrator)



Shri Farooq Khan, IPS, (Retd.) (Administrator)


Delhi (NCT)

Shri Anil Baijal (Lieutenant Governor)


Andaman and Nicobar Island

Admiral D K Joshi (Lieutenant Governor)



Dr. Kiran Bedi, IPS, (Retd.) (Lieutenant Governor)

Here it is worth to mention that unlike the administrators of other territories, who are drawn from the Indian Administrative Service, since 1985 the Governor of Punjab has acted as the ex-officio Administrator of Chandigarh.

Currently Praful Patel is having the additional charge of the administrator of the Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu.

We hope that the above list will be helpful for the upcoming exams to be held in India.

List of Former Chairmen of the UPSC


Related Categories