1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. World

Association of Caribbean States (ACS): Functions and Member States

21-MAR-2016 10:47

    The Association of Caribbean States (ACS) was instituted by the Convention on 24th July, 1994 in Cartagena de Indies, Colombia with the aim to promote consultations, co-operation and concerted action among the Caribbean Countries.  As stated in the Convention Establishing the ACS, its primary purpose is to be an organization for “consultation, cooperation and concerted action” for its member countries. Its framework provides a forum for political dialogue that allows Members the opportunity to identify areas of common interest and concern that may be addressed at the regional level, and the solutions for which can be found through cooperation. It is regarded as the common patrimony of the peoples of the region.


    Functions of Association of Caribbean States (ACS)

    • Strengthening of the regional co-operation and integration process.

    • To create thereby an enhanced economic space in the region.

    • To preserve the environmental integrity of the Caribbean Sea.

    • To promote the sustainable development of the great Caribbean.

    • The focal areas are trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters.

    Organisational Structure of Association of Caribbean States (ACS)

    The main organs of the Association are the Ministerial Council, which is the chief organ for policy-making and direction of the Association, and the Secretariat.

    There are five Special Committees on: Trade Development and External Economic Relations; Sustainable Tourism; Transport; Disaster Risk Reduction; and Budget and Administration. There is also a Council of National Representatives of the Special Fund responsible for overseeing resource mobilisation efforts and project development.

    Member States of Association of Caribbean States (ACS)

    The Member States shall have the right to participate in discussions and to vote at meetings of the Ministerial Council and Special Committees of the Association. The list of Member States is as follows:

    Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela.

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

      Latest Videos

      Register to get FREE updates

        All Fields Mandatory
      • (Ex:9123456789)
      • Please Select Your Interest
      • Please specify

      • ajax-loader
      • A verifcation code has been sent to
        your mobile number

        Please enter the verification code below

      This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK