1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. World

Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS)

14-JUN-2016 16:12

    The Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) is an Economic Community of the African Nations formed in 1983  by the UDEAC members and the members of the Economic Community of the Great  Lakes States (CEPGL) (Burundi, Rwanda and the then Zaire) as well as Sao Tomé  and Principe.


    Aims of the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS)

    • It shall be the aim of the Community to promote and strengthen harmonious cooperation and balanced and self-sustained development in all fields of economic and social activity, particularly in the fields of industry, transport and communications, energy agriculture, natural resources, trade, customs, monetary and financial matters, human resources, tourism, education, further training, culture, science and technology and the movement of persons, in order to achieve collective self-reliance, raise the standard of living of its peoples, increase and maintain economic stability, foster close and peaceful relations between Member States and contribute to the progress and development of the African continent,

    • For the purposes set out in paragraph 1 of this Article and in accordance with the relevant provisions of this Treaty, the aims of the Community shall be as follows:

    A. The elimination between Member States of customs duties and any other charges having an equivalent effect levied on imports and exports;

    B. The abolition between Member States of quantitative restrictions and other trade barriers;

    C. The establishment and maintenance of an external common customs tariff;

    D. The establishment of a trade policy vis-à-vis third States;

    E. The progressive abolition between Member States of obstacles to the free movement of persons, goods, services and capital and to the right of establishment;

    F. The harmonization of national policies in order to promote Community

    G. activities, particularly in industry, transport and communications, energy, agriculture, natural resources, trade, currency and finance, human resources, tourism, education, culture, science and technology;

    H. The establishment of a Cooperation and Development Fund;

    I. The rapid development of States which are landlocked, semi-landlocked, island or part-island and/or belong to the category of the least advanced countries;

    J. Any other join activities by Member States for achieving Community aims.

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

      Latest Videos

      Register to get FREE updates

        All Fields Mandatory
      • (Ex:9123456789)
      • Please Select Your Interest
      • Please specify

      • ajax-loader
      • A verifcation code has been sent to
        your mobile number

        Please enter the verification code below

      This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK