1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. World

Gulf Co-operation Council (GCC): Cooperation Council for Arab State

16-MAY-2016 14:45

    The Gulf Co-operation Council (GCC) is a cooperation council for those gulf states of Arab which have common political and cultural identities especially those have common root of Islamic belief. It was founded in 25th May, 1981 through the political and economical alliance of six Arab State. I.E. Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Bahrain, and Oman.


    Image Source: ssmcintl.com

    Objective of Gulf Co-operation Council (GCC)

    The charter of Gulf Co-operation Council (GCC) as stated in the Council preamble based on the cooperative framework which is moving around Arab world for coordination, integration and inter-connection. The basic objectives are discussed below:

    • To strengthen co-ordination, integration and inter-connection among the member states to adhere integrity.

    • To develop strong mutual understanding of relation and cooperation in any areas.

    • To formulate regulations on the basis of: Economic and financial affairs; Commerce, customs and communications; Education and culture; Social and health affairs; Information and tourism; Legislative and administrative affairs.

    • To induce scientific and technological growth and development in the fields of industry, mining, agriculture, water and animal resources: to establish scientific research: to establish joint ventures and encourage cooperation by the private sector for the betterment of their people.


    Image Source: thumbs.dreamstime.com

    Organisational Structure of Gulf Co-operation Council (GCC)

    The Supreme Council: It is the apex authority of the organisation that composed of heads of the Member-States. The President post rotated periodically and alphabetically among Member-States. All the decision are taken on the basis of voting.

    The Consultative Commission of the Supreme Council:  It is consultative council composed of thirty members from five member of each Member-State. Every member of Consultative Commission selected on the basis of their expertise and competence for three years.

    The Ministerial Council: It comprises of Foreign Ministers of all Member-State or ministers who are deputized. It formulates policies and gives recommendations for promotion of cooperation among Member-state.

    The Secretariat General: It act as subordinate and work on the entire Council's political helm of affairs such as cooperation, coordination, planning and programming for common action. It is composed of Secretary-General, Assistance Secretary-General, and Director-General of the functional divisions of the Secretariat and other subordinate employees.

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

      Latest Videos

      Register to get FREE updates

        All Fields Mandatory
      • (Ex:9123456789)
      • Please Select Your Interest
      • Please specify

      • ajax-loader
      • A verifcation code has been sent to
        your mobile number

        Please enter the verification code below

      This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK