Team India Squad World Cup 2023: Check Complete Squad, Players List, Captain, Batsmen, Bowlers and All-Rounders

Indian Team Squad for World Cup 2023: The players list for the Indian Men’s cricket team that will compete at the 2023 ICC World Cup was revealed after much anticipation. Check here the full squad list, match date, coaches, included players, dropped players and notable exceptions.

Mudit Chhikara
Nov 19, 2023, 06:33 IST
Get here all the details about India Team Players for Cricket World Cup 2023
Get here all the details about India Team Players for Cricket World Cup 2023

ICC World Cup 2023 India Team and Players: One of the biggest sporting events in the world is the quadrennial ICC Cricket World Cup. It’s held every four years and is among the most-watched sports tournaments on the planet.

The 2023 ICC World Cup commenced on October 5. This season is also special because it’s being hosted in India, a country where the sport is beloved by every strata of society and players are worshipped like idols.

On 5th September 2023, in a press conference, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), announced the official Team India squad for the 2023 ICC World Cup. Social media was rife with speculation regarding which players would make the cut, and many fans were severely disappointed with early reports.

Former cricketer Ajit Agarkar, who is heading the selection panel, travelled to Sri Lanka to consult with captain Rohit Sharma and coach Rahul Dravid about the latest developments. 

There are a few surprises in the final 15-player World Cup squad of India. But we always expected the BCCI to throw a few googlies.

You can check the full ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 India Team and Player list here.


ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Schedule

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Tickets

India vs Australia World Cup 2023 Final Complete Squad

Hardik Pandya ruled out for the remainder of the tournament and will be replaced by Prasidh Krishna.

— hardik pandya (@hardikpandya7) November 4, 2023

Hardik Pandya Ruled Out, Prasidh Krishna named Replacement

During India's World Cup clash against Bangladesh in Pune last month, Pandya sustained a left ankle injury while bowling. Regrettably, it has now been ascertained that the 30-year-old all-rounder has been unable to recuperate sufficiently to participate in the remainder of the tournament.

ICC World Cup 2023 India Team Announced: Ravichandran Ashwin Replaces Axar Patel in Final-15

In place of Pandya, Prasidh Krishna, a relatively inexperienced fast bowler, has been called upon to fill the void in India's squad. His inclusion has received the seal of approval from the tournament's Event Technical Committee, endorsing his entry into the playing group. This decision was ratified on the preceding Saturday, and Krishna is now poised to step into the competitive arena.

ICC World Cup India Team Squad 2023

  • India will be hosting the 2023 Cricket World Cup, set to take place from October 5 to November 19, 2023. The home team finally revealed the players that’ll represent it at the World Cup. The whole nation was eagerly awaiting the squad announcement, and it did not disappoint.
  • Team India is currently participating in the Asia Cup 2023, and the World Cup squad is much of the same with a few notable exceptions.
  • We already had a few reports on the players that will be included and excluded, along with some accurate predictions by cricket experts.
  • As per the latest reports, KL Rahul, who had been battling injuries for the past few months, has been cleared to play in the ICC World Cup. He will serve as the primary wicket-keeper. Rahul will also play in the Super-4 stage of the Asia Cup after missing the first two games.
  • Fan favourites and IPL stars Sanju Samson, Tilak Verma and Prasidh Krishna were unlikely to make the cut, and that turned out to be true. Fans expected Yuzvendra Chahal and Ravichandran Ashwin, but that didn’t happen either.
  • Rohit Sharma, who is the captain of the ODI team will lead the Indian squad at the World Cup too, with Hardik Pandya as vice-captain.


  • Veteran spinner Ravichandran Ashwin found his place in the final squad after all-rounder Axar Patel injured himself.
  • Hardik Pandya was ruled out due to an ankle injury on 4th November 2023, and Prasidh Krishna replaced him. 

Here is the Full and Final 15-player World Cup squad for India.

  • Rohit Sharma(Captain)
  • Shubman Gill
  • Virat Kohli
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • KL Rahul (WC) (Vice-Captain)
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Prasidh Krishna 
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Ishan Kishan (WC)
  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Shardul Thakur
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Mohammed Siraj

Cricket World Cup 2023 India Match Dates and Schedule

Match Date



October 8

India v Australia 

MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai

October 11

India v Afghanistan 

Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi

October 14

India v Pakistan 

Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad

October 19

India v Bangladesh

MCA Stadium in Pune

October 22

India v New Zealand 

HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala

October 29

India v England 

Ekana Stadium in Lucknow

November 2

India v Sri Lanka 

Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai

November 5

India v South Africa 

Eden Gardens in Kolkata

November 11

India v Netherlands 

Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru

November 15

India vs New Zealand Semi-Final 1

Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai

November 19

India vs Australia Final

Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad

Get here current GK and GK quiz questions in English and Hindi for India, World, Sports and Competitive exam preparation. Download the Jagran Josh Current Affairs App.


  • Who is the captain of the India Team for ICC Cricket World Cup 2023?
    Rohit Sharma is the captain of Team India in the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup. Hardik Pandya is the vice-captain.
  • Who are the players in the Team India squad World Cup 2023?
    The list of players in the Team India World Cup Squad includes Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya (Vice-captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj and Kuldeep Yadav.
  • Who is the Batting, Bowling and Fielding coach of Team India?
    Rahul Gandhi is the current head coach of Team India. Vikram Rathour is the batting coach, while Paras Mhambrey is the bowling coach and T Dilip is the fielding coach.


Related Stories

Trending Categories

Latest Education News

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.