1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Science  |  

Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) & India’s Space Facilities

29-JAN-2016 15:44

    In 1969, The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) was set up with headquartered in Bangalore/Bangaluru for the purpose of rapid development in space technology. In 1972, space commission was set up and in 1975, India launched its first satellite “Aryabhatta” under the leadership of India's first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru, and his close aide and scientist Vikram Sarabhai. The establishment of ISRO thus institutionalised space activities in India. It is managed by the Department of Space, which reports to the Prime Minister of India.

    Objectives of ISRO:

    Directed towards, self reliant use of space technology for national development with the main thrust on:

    (a) Mass communication and education via satellite.

    (b) Survey and management of natural resources through remote sensing technology, environmental monitoring and meteorological forecasting.

    (c) Development of indigenous satellites and satellite launch vehicles.

    Organizational Structure of the ISRO:


    Different Indian Space Launch Vehicles

    ISRO is managed by the Department of Space (DoS) of the Government of India. DoS itself falls under the authority of the Prime Minister and the Space

    Other Institutions Managed by ISRO:

    • Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), Thiruvananthapuram.
    • Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC), Thiruvananthapuram.
    • Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC-SHAR), Sriharikota (Andhra Pradesh).
    • ISRO Propulsion Complex (IPRC), Mahendragiri.
    • ISRO Satellite Centre (ISAC), Bengaluru.
    • Space Applications Centre (SAC), Ahmedabad.
    • National Remote Sensing Centre (NRSC), Hyderabad.
    • ISRO Inertial Systems Unit (IISU), Thiruvananthapuram.
    • Development and Educational Communication Unit (DECU), Ahmedabad.
    • Master Control Facility (MCF), Hassan, Karnataka.
    • ISRO Telemetry, Tracking and Command Network (ISTRAC), Bengaluru.
    • Laboratory for Electro-Optics Systems (LEOS), Bengaluru.
    • Indian Institute of Remote Sensing (IIRS), Dehradun.
    • Antrix Corporation - The marketing arm of ISRO, Bengaluru.
    • Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), Ahmedabad.
    • National Atmospheric Research Laboratory (NARL), Gadanki, Andhra Pradesh.
    • North-Eastern Space Applications Centre[19] (NE-SAC), Umiam.
    • Semi-Conductor Laboratory (SCL), Mohali.
    • Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST), Thiruvananthapuram - India's space university.