1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. World

Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD)

16-JUN-2016 17:16

    The Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD) was formed in 1996 to replace the intergovernmental Authority on Drought and Development which was set up in 1986. It is multi-national authority founded by east African Countries. I.E.  Djibouti, Ethiopia, Somalia, Sudan, Uganda and Kenya.


    Organisational Structure of Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD)

    The Assembly of Heads of State and Government: It is the apex body of policy making of the Authority which decides the objectives, guidelines and programs for IGAD.

    The Secretariat: It assists member states in formulating regional projects in the priority areas, facilitates the coordination and harmonization of development policies, mobilizes resources to implement regional projects and programs approved by the Council and reinforces national infrastructures necessary for implementing regional projects and policies. It is headed by the Executive Secretary.

    The Council of Ministers: It is consists of the Ministers of Foreign Affairs and one other Minister designated by each member state. It formulates policy, sanctions the work program and annual budget of the Secretariat during its half-yearly sessions.

    The Committee of Ambassadors: It comprises IGAD member states' Ambassadors or Plenipotentiaries accredited to the country of IGAD. It calls together as often as the need arises to advise and guide the Executive Secretary.

    Objectives of Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD)

    • Promote joint development strategies and step by step harmonize macro-economic policies and programs in the social, technological and scientific fields;

    • Harmonize policies as per trade, customs, transport, communications, agriculture, and natural resources, and promote free movement of goods, services, and people within the area.

    • Creates an modified environment for outsiders, cross-border, domestic trade and investment as well;

    • Achieve territorial food security and encourage and assist efforts of Member States to collectively fight drought and other natural and man-made disasters and their natural outcomes;

    • Initiate and promote programs and projects to territorial regional food security and sustainable development of natural resources and environment protection, and encourage and assist efforts of Member States to collectively fight drought and other natural and man-made calamities and their outcomes;

    • Develop and improve a coordinated and complementary infrastructure, in the areas of transport, telecommunications and energy in the region;

    • Promote peace and stability in the region and create mechanisms within the region for the prevention, management and resolution of inter-State and intra-State conflicts through dialogue;

    • Circulate the resources for the implementation of emergency, short-term, medium-term and long-term programs within the framework of regional cooperation;

    • Promote and realize the aims of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) and the African Economic Community;

    • Alleviate, promote and fortify cooperation in research development and application in science and technology.

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

      Latest Videos

      Register to get FREE updates

        All Fields Mandatory
      • (Ex:9123456789)
      • Please Select Your Interest
      • Please specify

      • ajax-loader
      • A verifcation code has been sent to
        your mobile number

        Please enter the verification code below

      This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK