List of BRICS Summits and Host Nations

BRIC was coined by the Goldman Sachs in 2001. Moving forward, this is expanded to BRICS in 2010. BRICS comprises 5 developing nations i.e. Brazil, India, Russia, China, and South Africa.
BRICS Leaders at Summit
BRICS Leaders at Summit

BRICS summit is being hosted by India in 2021. Know all the details about BRICS and the host countries over the years in the table below. Also find out various details of the members of the group here. 

BRICS: Basic details

BRICS: Brazil, India, Russia, China and South Africa.

Establishment: 2006

Members: 5 (Brazil, India, Russia, China and South Africa)

Organisation type: Economic, political, regional cooperative organisation

First summit: 16 June 2009 in Russia (Yekaterinburg) 

Total summits: 11 (2019)

Latest Summit: 13–14 November 2019 Brasília (Brazil)

Global exposure: Comprises 43% of the world population, 17% share in the world trade.

The term "BRIC" was coined by then-chairman of Goldman Sachs Asset Management, Jim O'Neill in 2001. 

Also Read| BRICS Summit 2021: Challenges, disputes and COVID triggered opportunities

This organisation has a very prominent role in the world economy because it represents around 43% of the world's population and 30% of the world's GDP.

Since 2009, its summits are held annually and till date 11 summits have been held. The latest summit of the BRICS is held at Brasília (Brazil) on 13–14 November 2019. Its meeting is chaired by the Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro.

The theme of the 11th BRICS summit 2019 is ‘BRICS: Economic Growth for an Innovative Future’.

Let us have a look on the list of BRICS summits;  

Host Nation



1. Yekaterinburg, Russia

16 June 2009

Dmitry Medvedev

2. Brasília, Brazil

15 April 2010  

Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva

3. Sanya, China

14 April 2011  

Hu Jintao

4. New Delhi, India

29 March 2012  

Manmohan Singh

5. Durban South Africa

26–27 March 2013  

Jacob Zuma

6. Fortaleza , Brazil

4–17 July 2014  

Dilma Rousseff

7. Ufa, Russia

8–9 July 2015  

Vladimir Putin

8. Benaulim, (Goa) India

15–16 October 2016

Narendra Modi

9. Xiamen, China

3–5 September 2017

Xi Jinping

10. Johannesburg , South Africa

25–27 July 2018

Cyril Ramaphosa

11. Brasília, Brazil

13–14 November 2019   

Jair Bolsonaro

12. Saint Petersburg Russia

July 2020

Vladimir Putin

13. India

June 2021

Narendra Modi

The above table shows that India has hosted the BRICS summits two times; first in 2012 and second in 2016. The next BRICS summit will be held in Saint Petersburg Russia in July 2020 and it will be headed by Vladimir Putin.

About BRICS Bank or New Development Bank

The fourth BRICS Summit held in New Delhi (2012) paved the way for the establishment of a bank that can mobilize resources for infrastructure and sustainable development projects in BRICS members.

After the consideration at New Delhi summit, the BRICS Bank or the New Development Bank (NDB) was established on 15 July 2014.

Its initial authorized capital of US$ 100 billion. Its headquarter is located in Shanghai, China and K. V. Kamath is the first President of the New Development Bank.

So this was the complete list of BRICS summits held till date. Click below to read such more topics…

G-20 Summits: List of Summits and Members

List of International Awards received by Narendra Modi

Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Jagran Play
खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर
Jagran PlayJagran PlayJagran PlayJagran Play

Related Categories