List of Indian National Congress President from Gandhi Family

Rahul Gandhi has resigned from the post of congress President on July 3, 2019. He was serving this post since December 2017. He was the 6th congress president from the Gandhi Family.
Rahul Gandhi
Rahul Gandhi

The Indian National Congress (INC) was established in 1885 in Bombay (now Mumbai). The basic motive behind the establishment of the INC was to propose economic reforms in India and its founding members wanted a larger role in the making of British policy for India.

The first President of the INC was Womesh Chandra Bannerjee. During 1885–1933, the tenure of the INC president was only for 1 year only.  As a tradition, the post of congress President is rotated between prominent members of the party.

List of President of Indian National Congress from the Gandhi family is as follows;

President Name



1. Rahul Gandhi

2017 to present

6th president from Gandhi family

2. Sonia Gandhi


Longest serving President of INC

3. Rajiv Gandhi


6th Prime Minister of India

4. Indira Gandhi

1978–83 & 1983 & 84

first and, to date, the only female Prime Minister of India

5. Jawaharlal Nehru

1929, 1930, 1936, 1937, 1951 & 52, 1953,1954

Longest serving PM of India

6. Motilal Nehru

1919, 1928

First congress President from Gandhi family

Some interesting facts about the Presidents of the Indian National Congress are;

1. The President of INC at the time of India's independence was J. B. Kripalani.

2. Annie Besant was the first woman President of INC.

3. Sarojini Naidu was the first Indian woman President of INC.

4. Sonia Gandhi is the longest serving INC president. She is having held the office for nineteen years from 1998 to 2017.

5. Mohandas Gandhi headed the presidency of the congress only once in 1924 at the Belgaum session.

6. Badruddin Tyabji had served as the third President of the Indian National Congress. He was the first muslim president of Indian National congress.

7. At the time of Indian independence the President of the Indian National Congress was J. B. Kripalani.

So the list of President of all Indian National Congress shows that Gandhi family had 6 people at the post of congress President. Let’s see how long this practice of dynasty politics continues?

Meaning and history of Anglo Indians in India

List of all Presidents of India

Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Jagran Play
खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर
Jagran PlayJagran PlayJagran PlayJagran Play

Related Categories