List of Hat-Trick Wickets in Test Matches

A hat-trick of wickets is easy as compared to ODI and T20 Match. When a bowler took three wickets on three consecutive balls; it is called hat-trick of wickets. There are 44 hat-trick of wickets have been taken in test matches so far. Read this article to know the list of hat-trick of wickets in test matches.
Nov 27, 2019 13:22 IST
facebook Iconfacebook Iconfacebook Icon
Bold out in Test match
Bold out in Test match

The test cricket have completed around 142 years of its journey. The first test match was played between England and Australia from 15 to19 March 1877. 

As of now around 12 teams are test playing nations. Currently, India is leading ICC Men's Test Team Rankings with 119 ratings, New Zealand is on second rank.

The hat-trick of wickets is a special phenomenon in the test match. It is considered the rarest feat in the test match. There are 44 hat-trick of wickets have been taken in test matches so far. 

Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne is the only ground that witnessed 5 hat-tricks in test matches.

The first Test hat-trick was claimed by the Australian pace bowler ‘Fred Spofforth’ against England on 2 January 1879. The latest Test hat-trick was earned by the Indian bowler Jasprit Bumrah against West Indies on 31 August 2019.

Before Bumrah two other Indians Harbhajan Singh and Irfan Pathan have achieved this feat in the test match.

Now let’s have a look on the list of Hat-Trick Wickets in test matches;

Player name


Hat trick date

1. Fred Spofforth (Australia)


2 January 1879

2. Billy Bates (England)


20 January 1883

3. Johnny Briggs (England)


2 February 1892

4. George Lohmann (England)

South Africa

14 February 1896

5. Jack Hearne (England)


30 June 1899

6. Hugh Trumble (Australia)


4 January 1902

7. Hugh Trumble (Australia)


8 March 1904

8. Jimmy Matthews (Australia)

South Africa

28 May 1912

9. Maurice Allom (England)

New Zealand

10 January 1930

10. Tom Goddard (England)

South Africa

26 Dec. 1938

11. Peter Loader(England) West


25 July 1957

12. Lindsay Kline (Australia)

South Africa

3 January 1958

13. Wes Hall (West Indies)


29 March 1959

14. Geoff Griffin (South Africa)


24 June 1960

15. Lance Gibbs(West Indies)


30 January 1961

16. Peter Petherick (New Zealand)


9 October 1976

17. Courtney Walsh (West Indies)


18–20 Nov. 1988

18. Merv Hughes (Australia)

West Indies

3–4 Dec. 1988

19. Damien Fleming (Australia)


9 October 1994

20. Shane Warne (Australia)


29 Dec. 1994

21. Dominic Cork  (England)

West Indies

30 July 1995

22. Darren Gough  (England)


2 January 1999

23. Wasim Akram  (Pakistan)

Sri Lanka

6 March 1999

24. Wasim Akram (Pakistan)

Sri Lanka

14 March 1999

25. Nuwan Zoysa (Sri Lanka)


26 November 1999

26. Abdul Razzaq (Pakistan)

Sri Lanka

21 June 2000

27. Glenn McGrath ( Australia)

West Indies

1 Dec. 2000

28. Harbhajan Singh(India)


11 March 2001

29. Mohammad Sami (Pakistan)

Sri Lanka

8 March 2002

30. Jermaine Lawson (West Indies)


2–5 May 2003

31. Alok Kapali (Bangladesh)


29 August 2003

32. Andy Blignaut  (Zimbabwe)


22 February 2004

33. Matthew Hoggard  (England)

West Indies

3 April 2004

34. James Franklin (New Zealand)


20 October 2004

35. Irfan Pathan (India)


29 January 2006

36.Ryan Sidebottom (England)

New Zealand

8 March 2008

37.Peter Siddle (Australia)


25 November 2010

38. Stuart Broad (England)


30 July 2011

39. Sohag Gazi (Bangladesh)

New Zealand

13 October 2013

40. Stuart Broad (England)

Sri Lanka

20 June 2014

41. Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka)


5 August 2016

42. Moeen Ali (England)

South Africa

31 July 2017

43. Jasprit Bumrah (India)

West Indies

31 August 2019

Some Interesting Records of Hat-trick in Test Matches 

1. England’s cricket players have earned most hat-tricks in the test matches. There are 14 hat-tricks of wickets in matches have been claimed by the 13 players. Followed by the 9 Australian players who claimed 11 hat-tricks.


2. Sohag Gazi (Bangladesh) is the only player who take a hat-trick and scored a century in the same test match.

3. There are 3 players have taken hat-trick on their Test debut. Their name are; English medium pace bowler Maurice Allom (1930), New Zealand's Peter Petherick (1976), and Australian pace bowler Damien Fleming in 1994.

4. There are 4 bowlers have taken more than one hat-trick in test cricket.

5.  Wasim Akram (Pakistan) had took two hat-tricks in the duration of nine days in 1999.

So this was the complete list of players who have taken hat-trick in test matches.

List of cricketers who have taken hat-trick wicket in ODI

List of 10 fastest Centuries in ODIs

List of Hat-Tricks of Wickets in T20 International Cricket