Nobel Prize 2023 Winners List: Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Literature and Other Categories

Nobel Prize 2023 Winners: The winner of the Nobel Prize for Chemistry, Medicine & Physiology 2023 is announced by the Swedish Academy. 

Oct 10, 2023, 07:50 IST
Winners List of 2023 Nobel Prize
Winners List of 2023 Nobel Prize

Nobel Prize Winners 2023: The Swedish Academy in Stockholm, Sweden, will make the announcement of the 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature on October 5, 2023, and it will be given out on December 10, 2023. The prize was founded by Alfred Nobel in accordance with his will.

Nobel Prize Winners 2023 List

S.No Name Category

Katalin Karikó

Drew Weissman

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Pierre Agostini

Ferenc Krausz 

Anne L’Huillier

Nobel Prize in Physics

Moungi G. Bawendi

Louis E. Brus

Alexei I. Ekimo

Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Jon Fosse

Nobel Prize in Literature

Narges Mohammadi

Nobel Peace Prize

Claudia Goldin


Nobel Prize in Economic Science 

10 Best Movies On Nobel Prize Winners

2023 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Katalin Karikó and Drew Weissman will share the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine as a result of their discoveries about nucleoside base changes, which allowed for the creation of COVID-19 mRNA vaccines. This decision was made by the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet.

Katalin Karikó: Katalin Karikó was born in 1955, Szolnok Hungary. In 1982, she graduated with a PhD from the University of Szeged, and from 1982 to 1985, she worked as a postdoctoral researcher at the Hungarian Academy of Sciences in Szeged. She then carried out postdoctoral studies at the University of Health Sciences in Bethesda and Temple University in Philadelphia. Later, she was hired as an assistant professor at the University of Pennsylvania in 1989, and she stayed there until 2013. At BioNTech RNA Pharmaceuticals, she later rose to the positions of vice president and senior vice president. She has been an Adjunct Professor at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania since 2021 and a Professor at Szeged University since 2021.

Drew Weissman: The United States' Drew Weissman was born in Lexington, Massachusetts, in 1959. In 1987, he graduated from Boston University with both his MD and Ph.D. He completed his postdoctoral studies at the National Institutes of Health after completing his clinical training at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center at Harvard Medical School. Weissman started his research team in 1997 at the University of Pennsylvania's Perelman School of Medicine. He is the Director of the Penn Institute for RNA Innovations and the Roberts Family Professor in Vaccine Research. 

List of Nobel Prize Awardees in Physiology or Medicine (1901-2023)

2023 Nobel Prize in Physics

Anne L’Huillier: Anne L’Huillier was born on 16 August 1958 in Paris, France. She received the Nobel Prize in Physics 2023 for her experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter.

Pierre Agostini: Pierre Agostini is affiliated with Ohio State University, Columbus, USA. He was also awarded the Nobel Prize for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter. 

Ferenc Krausz: The Hungarian Physicist received the Nobel Prize in Physics 2023 for his contributions to experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter. He is currently affiliated with Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Garching, Germany; Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Munich, Germany.

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2023

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2023 is given to Moungi G. Bawendi, Louis E. Brus, and Alexei I. Ekimov for their work on the discovery and development of quantum dots. These tiny particles, which have special qualities, are now emitting light from LED lights and television displays. They accelerate chemical processes and can provide a surgeon with good illumination of tumour tissue.

2023 Nobel Prize in Literature

The Nobel Prize 2023 in Literature was awarded to Jon Fosse. He received this award as a motivation “for his innovative plays and prose which give voice to the unsayable”

Nobel Peace Prize in 2023

Narges Mohammadi will receive the 2023 Nobel Peace Prize as result of her efforts to fight for universal human rights and freedom as well as the oppression of women in Iran, according to the Norwegian Nobel Committee. Her valiant fight has cost her dearly personally.

2023 Economic Science Nobel Winner

This year’s economic sciences laureate, Claudia Goldin, provided the first comprehensive account of women’s earnings and labour market participation through the centuries. By trawling through the archives and compiling and correcting historical data, Goldin has been able to present new and often surprising facts. 

Nobel Committee

The Swedish Academy's 2023 Nobel Committee is composed of the following members:





Anders Olsson


Committee Chair

Literary Critic, Literary Historian

Mats Malm


Associate Member

Permanent Secretary

Translator, Literary Historian, Editor

Per Wästberg



Novelist, Journalist, Poet, Essayist

Anne Swärd




Ellen Mattson



Novelist, Essayist

Steve Sem-Sandberg



Journalist, Author, Translator

Malala Yousafzai: How A Girl From Pakistan Won A Nobel Prize- 10 Interesting Facts

Every year, in the month of November, the Swedish Academy receives thousands of letters from all over the world recommending both well-known and obscure authors for the Nobel Prize. Only qualified individuals can make such nominations, including members of the Swedish Academy and other academies, organizations, and societies that are conceptually and functionally comparable to it, professors of literature and linguistics at universities and colleges, previous Nobel Prize laureates in literature, and leaders of writers' organizations who are qualified to serve as ambassadors for their nations' literature and fine arts. 

Source: Nobel Prize Organization (

Get here current GK and GK quiz questions in English and Hindi for India, World, Sports and Competitive exam preparation. Download the Jagran Josh Current Affairs App.


  • How many candidates are nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize 2023?
    351 candidates are nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize 2023.
  • Who won the Nobel Prize in 2023?
    Katalin Kariko won the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 2023.


Related Stories

Latest Education News

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.