Comment (0)

Post Comment

8 + 6 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    List of Presidents of Afghanistan (1973-2021)

    Afghanistan has had a troublesome history as the status of the Government ruling the place has always been in question there. With too many outside forces involved in the country as well, the land has seen many monarchs, State heads and leaders ousted and reinstated. Take a look at the list of Presidents of Afghanistan in the article below.
    Created On: Sep 13, 2021 16:28 IST
    Modified On: Sep 13, 2021 17:10 IST
    Afghanistan President List
    Afghanistan President List

    The foundation of Afghanistan was done by the Hotak Empire in 1709. This empire was formed after Mirwais Hotak and Afghan tribes from Kandahar region ousted the Mughal and Safavid Persian rule. There were heads of state in the monarchical rule. Hussain Hotak was the last ruler of this dynasty ousted by Nadir Shah in the Siege of Kandahar. He died in 1738. 

    Another war was fought and the Hotak Empire was replaced by the Durrani Afghan Empire founded by Ahmad Shah Durrani in 1747. Ahmad Shah Durrani is also known as the Father of the Nation in Afghanistan. He is considered to be the founder of modern Afghanistan. The Durrani empire ended with Ayub Shah Durrani in 1837.

    The collapse of the Durrani empire was met with the Barakzai dynasty that founded the Emirate of Afghanistan and transformed it into the Kingdom of Afghanistan. This kingdom continued till the 1973 coup d'état, led by Mohammed Daoud Khan who established the Republic of Afghanistan and proclaimed himself the President. This Republic status lasted pleasantly till 1978 and ever since then the state has been in continuous political turmoil. 

    The first ever elected President of Afghanistan was Hamid Karzai in 2004. His successor was Ashraf Ghani who escaped from the country when Taliban recaptured Kabul in 2021. Take a look at the list of Presidents in Afghanistan since the Republic came into being. 

    List of Presidents of Afghanistan:




    President of Republic of Afghanistan

    Mohammed Daoud Khan

    17 July 1973- 28 April 1978

    Independent (until 1976) / National Revolutionary Party

    President of Democratic Republic of Afghanistan

    Colonel Abdul Qadir

    28 April 1978- 30 April 1978

    Peoples Democratic party

    Nur Muhammad Taraki

    30 April 1978 -14 Sep 1979

    People’s Democratic Party

    Hafizullah Amin

    14 Sep 1979 -27 Dec 1979

    People’s Democratic Party

    Babrak Karmal

    27 Dec 1979 – 24 Nov 1986

    People’s Democratic Party

    Haji Mohammad Chamkani

    24 Nov 1986 – 30 Sep 1987


    Mohammad Najibullah

    30 Sep 1987- 30 Nov 1987

    People’s Democratic Party

    Mohammad Najibullah

    30 Nov 1987 -16 April 1992

    People’s Democratic Party

    Abdul Rahim Hatif

    16 April 1992 – 28 April 1992

    Watan Party

    Presidents of Islamic State of Afghanistan

    Sibghatullah Mojaddedi

    28 April 1992 28 -June 1992

    National Liberation Front of Afghanistan

    Burhanuddin Rabbani

    28 June 1992 – 22 Dec 2001

    Jamiat-e Islami

    Presidents of Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

    Hamid Karzai

    22 Dec 2001 – 29 Sep 2014


    Ashraf Ghani

    29 Sep 2014 – August 2021 (exiled)


    Taliban Government in Afghanistan

    Amrullah Saleh

    17 August 2021- Present

    Acting President

    The President of Afghanistan is the commander in chief of the armed forces as well. 

    Read| List of Prime Ministers of Afghanistan

    Related Categories