Comment (0)

Post Comment

3 + 5 =
Disclaimer: Comments will be moderated by Jagranjosh editorial team. Comments that are abusive, personal, incendiary or irrelevant will not be published. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name, to avoid rejection.

    List of Prime Ministers of Afghanistan

    Afghanistan is one country which has always been in political turmoil. Take a look at the list of Prime Ministers who have participated in shaping the state and the future of the country below. Recently on September 7, 2021 a new Prime Minister has become in-charge.
    Created On: Sep 13, 2021 15:00 IST
    Modified On: Sep 13, 2021 15:27 IST
    Afghanistan PM
    Afghanistan PM

    The Prime Minister of Afghanistan has been the talk of the town since the Taliban took over the capital.  President Ashraf Ghani's eloping and the State being left orphaned by US was a condemning act of cruelty watched on mute by the world. Recently on September 7, 2021, it was announced by the officials of Taliban that Mullah Hasan Akhund would be the acting Prime Minister of Afghanistan. Take a look at the list of Prime Minister's the nation has had till now below.

    Prime Ministers of Afghanistan:

    Prime Minister of Afghanistan has been a post within the cabinet of Afghanistan. It was created in 1927 as an official appointed by the King of the country. By that time Afghanistan was a Monarchical state. The Kingdom of Afghanistan ended in 1973 and the post till then was held by men who were the chief advisors of the King. 

    List of Prime Ministers in the Kingdom of Afghanistan:

    At the time Afghanistan was a Kingdom, the King himself was the chairman of the Council of Ministers. It was only in his absence that the Prime Minister was the acting chairman of the council. 

    In 1963, it became that the head of the state would be the Prime Minister of Afghanistan and he had the power to summon the Electoral College in case the King died. 

    Take a look at the list of all Prime Ministers below.  



    Shir Ahmad


    Shir Giyan

    Jan-Nov 1929

    Mohammad Hashim Khan


    Amanat Lewana


    Shah Mahmud Khan


    Mohammed Daoud Khan


    Mohammad Yusuf


    Mohammad Hashim Maiwandwal


    Abdullah Yaqta


    Mohammad Nur Ahmad Etemadi


    Abdul Zahir


    Mohammad Musa Shafiq



    List of Prime Ministers of Democratic Republic of Afghanistan:

    Afghanistan became a Democratic Republic in 1978 when Mohammed Daoud Khan started the Saur Revolution. The President was incharge of the appointment of the Prime Minister during that time and it was the Prime Minister's job to appoint the Council of Ministers. Take a look at the list below.




    Political Party

    Nur Muhammad Taraki

    May 1978-Mar 1979

    People's Democratic Party

    Hafizullah Amin

    Mar 1979-Dec 1979

    People's Democratic Party

    Babrak Karmal

    Dec 1979- Jun 1981

    People's Democratic Party

    Sultan Ali Keshtmand

    Jun 1981- May 1988

    People's Democratic Party

    Mohammad Hasan Sharq

    May 1988-Feb 1989


    Sultan Ali Keshtmand

    Feb 1989- May 1990

    People's Democratic Party

    Fazal Haw Khaliqyar

    May 1990- Apr 1992

    People's Democratic Party (Parcham Faction)

    Related| Why a 40 km wall has been built by Greece on its border with Turkey?

    List of Prime Ministers of Islamic State of Afghanistan:

    The Government of Mohammad Najibullah had collapsed, creating a transitional state. The office of PM was then again in an important role in the history of the country. Take a look below.



    Political Party

    Abdul Sabur Farid Kohistani

    July 1992-August 1992

    Hezb-e Islami Gulbuddin

    Gulbuddin Hekmatayar

    June 1993-June 1994

    Hezb-e Gulbuddin

    Arsala Rahmani Daulat

    June 1994-1995

    Ittehad-e Islami

    Ahmad Shah Ahmadzai

    1995- June 1996

    Ittehad e Islami

    Gulbuddin Hekmatayar

    June 1996-Aug 1997

    Hazb-e Islami Gulbuddin

    Abdul Rahim Ghafoorzai

    Aug 1997



    List of Prime Ministers of Islamic Emirates of Afghanistan: 

    The Islamic Emirates of Afghanistan cancelled the title when the Taliban took over it in 1996.  Take a look below.



    Political Affiliation

    Mullah Mohammad Rabbani

    Sep 1996-Apr 2001


    Abdul Kabir

    Apr 2001-Nov 2001


    Hasan Akhund

    Sep 2021


    The deputy leader of the Taliban was called the Prime Minister then. As Mohammad Rabbani died in 2001, this office of PM was not revived. The position of Prime Minister was finally reinstated in September 2021. So, this was the complete list of Prime Ministers of Afghanistan. Read more about the country and its crisis in the linked articles provided here. 

    Also Read| List of Taliban's most powerful members

    Afghanistan: Know its history, geography, map, language, culture, religion and more

    Take Free Online UPSC Prelims 2021 Mock Test

    Start Now

    Related Categories