List of Secretaries General of Organization of American States

25-MAR-2013 13:13
    S.No. Period Name Country
    1 1948–1954 Alberto Lleras Camargo  Colombia
    2 1954–1955 Carlos Dávila
    Died while in office
    3 1956–1968 José A. Mora  Uruguay
    4 1968–1975 Galo Plaza  Ecuador
    5 1975–1984 Alejandro Orfila  Argentina
    6 1984–1994 João Clemente Baena Soares  Brazil
    7 1994–2004 César Gaviria
    Re-elected to a second term at the 1999 General Assembly
    8 15 September 2004 – 15 October 2004 Miguel Ángel Rodríguez
     Costa Rica
    15 October 2004 – 26 May 2005 Luigi R. Einaudi (acting)  United States
    9 26 May 2005 – present José Miguel Insulza
    Elected 2 May 2005 (see: OAS Secretary General election, 2005)

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK