List of Vice-Presidents in India and their Term of Office

18-APR-2018 18:50
    List of Indian Vice President

    Article 63 of Indian Constitution states that "there shall be a Vice-President of India. Vice-President is elected by the members of an electoral college consisting of the members of both houses of the Parliament. State legislature has no role in his election. Vice-President is the ex- officio chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

    Qualifications for Vice-President of India:

    1.  He must be a citizen of India.

    2. He should not be less than of 35 years.

    3. Must be eligible for election as a member of the Rajya Sabha.

    4. He must not be a member of the Rajya Sabha.

    5. He should not hold any office of profit.

    Indian Polity & Governance: A Complete Study Material

    Term of Office: Vice-President is elected for 5 years and is eligible for immediate re- election. However he can be terminated before his tenure through these methods:
    (i) Resignation to be addressed to the President (ii) Removal- by a resolution of the council of states passed by the majority of its members and agreed to by the Lok Sabha.

    Following is the list of Vice Presidents of India and their term of office:

     S. No.
    Vice - President
    Took Office
    Left Office
     1  Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
     13 May 1952
    12 May 1962
    Dr. Rajendra Prasad
     2  Dr. Zakir Hussain
     13 May 1962
    13 May 1967
    Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
     3  Sh. Varahagiri Venkata Giri
     13 May 1967
    3 May 1969
    Dr. Zakir Hussain
     4  Gopal Swarup Pathak
     1 September 1969
    1 September 1974
    Sh. Varahagiri Venkata Giri
     5  Basappa Danappa Jatti
     1 September 1974
    25 July 1977
    Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
     6  Justice Muhammad Hidayatullah
     25 August 1977
    25 July 1982
    Shri Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
     7  Ramaswamy Venkataraman
     25 August 1982
    25 July 1987
    Giani Zail Singh
     8  Shankar Dayal Sharma
     3 September 1987
    24 July 1992
    Ramaswamy Venkataraman
     9  Kocheril Raman Narayanan
     21 August 1992
    24 July 1997
    Shankar Dayal Sharma
     10  Krishan Kant  21 August 1997 27 July 2002 Kocheril Raman Narayanan
     11  Bhairon Singh Shekhawat  19 August 2002 21 July 2007 A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
     12 Mohammad Hamid Ansari  11 August 2007 Incumbent (serving 2nd term)
    Pranab Mujherjee
     13 M Venkaiah Naidu Aug 06, 2017 Incumbent Ram Nath Kovind

    List of all President of India from 1947 to 2017

    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

      Latest Videos

      Register to get FREE updates

        All Fields Mandatory
      • (Ex:9123456789)
      • Please Select Your Interest
      • Please specify

      • ajax-loader
      • A verifcation code has been sent to
        your mobile number

        Please enter the verification code below

      This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK