List of Winners & Runners-up of the ICC Cricket World Cup

The very first ICC cricket World Cup was played in England in 1975. This is the third most happening tournament after football and Rugby World Cup. It is held after the gap of 4 years. West Indies won the both initial world cups held in 1975 and 1979. India has won this tournament by defeating West Indies in the final in 1983.
Jun 10, 2019 11:47 IST
    India Winning World Cup

    There are 11 World Cup tournaments being held till date. Australia is the most success country which won 5 World Cups. India & West Indies are the only two countries which have won the world cup 2 times each.

    India won the World Cup in 1983 and 2011, while West Indies won in 1975 and 1979. Pakistan and Sri Lanka are the other two countries that have won the World Cup in 1992 and 1996 respectively. England is the only country which lost 2 finals and hosted the world cup 5 times.

    Till 2011 cricket World Cup there was a unique record that the Cricket World Cup never won by the host nation. But in 2011 India broken this taboo and won the cricket World Cup 2011 as a host nation. Australia is another country which has won the cricket World Up as a host nation in 2015.




          Year/Host Nation

    1. West Indies



    2. West Indies


       1979/ England

    3. India

     West Indies

       1983/ England

    4. Australia


       1987/ India & Pakistan

    5. Pakistan


       1992/ Australia & New Zealand

    6. Sri Lanka


       1996/ Pakistan & India

    7.  Australia


       1999/ England

    8. Australia


       2003/South Africa

    9. Australia

     Sri Lanka

       2007/ West Indies

    10. India

     Sri Lanka

       2011/ India & Bangladesh

    11. Australia

     New Zealand

       2015/Australia & New Zealand

    12.        ---


       2019/ England & Wales

    13.        ---



    There are 10 teams will participate in the cricket World Cup 2019. It is commenced from 30th May 2019 and will continue till July 14, 2019. India, England and Australia are considered as the most favourite teams to won the World Cup 2019.

    List of Cricketers who have scored 10,000 runs in ODI

    Do you know the salary of Indian Cricketers?


    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below