Rajasthan Day 2023: Know Date, History, Geography, Significance, and More

Rajasthan Day 2023: The state is popularly known as the Land of Kings or Land of Kingdoms and is the largest state by area in India. On the foundation day of Rajasthan, take a look at its history, geography, art and culture, the significance of the day, quotes, etc.

Rajasthan Day 2023:  March 30 is celebrated across the state to mark the formation of the state of Rajasthan. On this day in 1949, the four states, namely Jodhpur, Jaipur, Bikaner, and Jaisalmer, joined with the United State of Rajasthan, and the region came to be known as Greater Rajasthan.

Formerly, Rajasthan was known as Rajputana, which means "The Country of the Rajputs". The meaning of Rajasthan is "The Abode of the Rajas". It is located in the northwest part of the country and is the home of cultural diversity. The state's features include Indus Valley Civilisation ruins, temples, forts, and fortresses in almost every city. It is divided into nine regions, namely: Ajmer State, Hadoti, Dhundhar, Gorwar, Shekhawati, Mewar, Marwar, Vagad, and Mewat. They are equally rich in their heritage and artistic contribution. 

Keoladeo National Park is a world heritage site near Bharatpur that is known for its bird life. The state also has two national tiger reserves, namely Ranthambore National Park at Sawai Madhopur and Sariska Tiger Reserve in Alwar. Take a look at Rajasthan Day; why is it observed on March 30th? Its history, geography, the significance of the day, quotes, etc.

20 Interesting and Important Facts about Rajasthan

Why is Rajasthan Day observed on March 30th?

On March 30th, 1949, the state was formed when Rajputana's name, as adopted by the British Crown, was merged into the Dominion of India. Jaipur, being the largest city, was declared the capital of the state. 

On this day in 1949, the four states, namely Jodhpur, Jaipur, Bikaner, and Jaisalmer, joined with the United State of Rajasthan, and the region came to be known as Greater Rajasthan. 

The seven stages of the formation of Rajasthan (1948–1956) are as follows:

Name of Group States Date of Integration
Matsya Union Alwar, Bharatpur, Dholpur, Karauli 17-03-1948
Rajasthan Union Banswara, Bundi, Dungerpur, Jhalawar, Kishangarh, Kota, Pratapgarh, Shahpura, Tonk. 25-03-1948
United State of Rajasthan Udaipur also joined with the other Union of Rajasthan. 18-04-1948
Greater Rajasthan Bikaner, Jaipur, Jaisalmer & Jodhpur also joined with the United State of Rajasthan. 30-03-1949
United State of Greater Rajasthan Matsya Union also merged with Greater Rajasthan 15-05-1949
United Rajasthan 18 States of United Rajasthan merged with Princely State Sirohi except for Abu and Delwara. 26-01-1950
Re-organised Rajasthan Under the State Re-organisation Act, 1956 the erstwhile part ‘C’ State of Ajmer, Abu Road Taluka, the former part of princely State Sirohi which was merged in former Bombay, State and Sunel Tappa region of the former Madhya Bharat merged with Rajasthan and Sironj subdistrict of Jhalawar district was transferred to Madhya Pradesh. 01-11-1956

Source: rajassembly.nic

Rajasthan has preserved tales of bravery, the natural world, and the ancestors within its boundaries. Indus Valley civilization ruins can be found at Kalibangan and Balathal, the Dilwara Temples are a Jain pilgrimage site located in Mount Abu, the only hill station in Rajasthan, in the historic Aravalli mountain range, and eastern Rajasthan is the Keoladeo National Park of Bharatpur, a World Heritage Site known for its bird life. Three national tiger reserves are also located in Rajasthan: the Mukundra Hills Tiger Reserve near Kota, the Sariska Tiger Reserve in Alwar, and the Ranthambore National Park in Sawai Madhopur.

READ| Important Days and Dates in March 2023

Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Jagran Play
खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर
Jagran PlayJagran PlayJagran PlayJagran Play

Related Categories