1. Home
  2.  | 
  4.  | 
  5. The Polity  | 

Schedules in the Constitution of India

Schedules are lists in the Constitution that categorizes and tabulates bureaucratic activity and policy of the Government. Our constitution had 8 Schedules originally. The First Amendment Act added the 9th schedule in the constitution. 35th Amendment Act added the 10th schedule in the constitution in 1974 regarding the “associate Status” of the Sikkim. Later 36th amendment act admitted Sikkim as state of India. A New 10th schedule was added by 52th amendment act 1985 in context with the “Anti-Defection” Law.
Jul 31, 2015 10:08 IST

    Followings are the schedules in Constitution of India

    First Schedule

    • List of States & Union Territories

    Second Schedule

    • Contains provisions as to the President, Governor, Speaker, Deputy Speaker of the House of the people, chairman and deputy chairman of the council of states and the speaker of the legislative assembly and chairman and deputy chairman of the legislative council of a state, Salary of President, Governors, Chief Judges, Judges of High Court and Supreme court, Comptroller and Auditor General

    Third Schedule

    • Forms of Oaths and affirmations

    Fourth Schedule

    • Allocate seats for each state of India in Rajya Sabha

    Fifth Schedule

    • Administration and control of scheduled areas and tribes

    Sixth Schedule

    • Provisions for administration of Tribal Area in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram & Arunachal Pradesh

    Seventh Schedule

    • Gives allocation of powers and functions between Union & States. It contains 3 lists
      1. Union List (For central Govt) 97 Subjects.
      2. States List (Powers of State Govt) 66 subjects
      3. Concurrent List (Both Union & States) 47 subjects.

    Eighth Schedule

    • List of 22 languages of India recognized by Constitution

    1. Assamese

    2. Bengali

    3. Gujarati

    4. Hindi

    5. Kannada

    6. Kashmiri

    7. Manipuri

    8. Malayalam

    9. Konkani

    10. Marathi

    11. Nepali

    12. Oriya

    13. Punjabi

    14. Sanskrit

    15. Sindhi

    16. Tamil

    17. Telugu

    18. Urdu

    19. Santhali

    20. Bodo

    21. Maithili

    22. Dogri

    • Sindhi was added in 1967 by 21 Amendment
    • Konkani, Manipuri ad Nepali were added in 1992 by 71 amendment Santhali, Maithili, Bodo and Dogri were added in 2003 by 92 amendment

    Ninth Schedule

    • Added by first amendment in 1951. Contains acts & orders related to land tenure, land tax, railways, industries.{Right of property not a fundamental right now}

    Tenth Schedule

    • Added by 52nd amendment in 1985. Contains provisions of disqualification of grounds of defection

    Eleventh Schedule

    • By 73rd amendment in 1992. Contains provisions of Panchayati Raj.

    Twelfth Schedule

    • By 74thamendment in 1992. Contains provisions of Municipal Corporation.



      Register to get FREE updates

        All Fields Mandatory
      • (Ex:9123456789)
      • Please Select Your Interest
      • Please specify

      • ajax-loader
      • A verifcation code has been sent to
        your mobile number

        Please enter the verification code below