The Vijayanagar Empire: Saluva Dynasty

This was the second dynasty to rule the Vijayanagar Empire.

This was the second dynasty to rule the Vijayanagar Empire. The list of Saluva dynasty kings and their short description are given below:

Saluva Narasimha Deva Raya (1485-1491 AD)

He tried to expand his empire but faced stiff opposition from rebelling chieftains. He conquered the western ports of Kannada country of Mangalore, Honnavar, Bakanur and Bhatkal but lost Udayagiri to Gajapati Kapilendra in 1491. He died in 1491.

Thimma Bhupala (1491 AD)

He succeeded his father Narasimha Deva Raya but was murdered by his army commander who took the advantage of political unrest. He was succeeded by his younger brother Narasimha Raya II.

Narasimha Raya II (1491-1505 AD)

Despite being the crowned King, he remained a puppet in the hands of his commander Tuluva Narasa Nayaka till his death in 1505. He was murdered by the son of Narasa Nayaka, Viranarasimha Raya who proclaimed himself as the new king. Viranarsimha raya was acting as the regent of the empire after the death of Narasa Nayaka.

Thus Saluva dynasty came to an end.

Find Information on:

Battle of Talikota (1565 AD)

Post Bahmani Era: Deccan Sultanates

Bahmani Kingdom (1347-1527 AD)

Vijayanagar Empire: Aravidu Dynasty

Krishnadeva Raya (1509-1529 AD)

Vijayanagar Empire: Tuluva Dynasty

Get the latest General Knowledge and Current Affairs from all over India and world for all competitive exams.
Jagran Play
खेलें हर किस्म के रोमांच से भरपूर गेम्स सिर्फ़ जागरण प्ले पर
Jagran PlayJagran PlayJagran PlayJagran Play

Related Categories