1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. World  |  

What is Colombo Plan?

11-MAR-2016 19:17

    The Colombo Plan was established in 1950 with its headquarters in Colombo. It is a regional organisation that embodies the concept of collective intergovernmental effort to strengthen economic and social development of member countries in the Asia-Pacific region. The primary focus of all Colombo Plan activities is on human resources development.


    Source: colombo-plan.org

    Purpose of Colombo Plan

    • To promote the development of the newly independent Asian member countries.

    Members of Colombo Plan

    It was started as a group of seven Commonwealth countries; it has now 27 member countries.  27 Current members Afghanistan; Australia;  Bangladesh; Bhutan; Brunei; Fiji; India; Indonesia; Iran;  Japan; Laos; Malaysia; Maldives; Mongolia; Myanmar; Nepal; New Zealand; Pakistan; Papua New Guinea, Philippines; Saudi Arabia; Singapore; South Korea; Sri Lanka; Thailand; United States and Vietnam. Former members were Cambodia; Canada; South Vietnam and United Kingdom.

    Permanent Programmes of the Colombo Plan

    1. Programme for Public Administration & Environment (PPA & ENV)

    2. Programme for Private Sector Development (PPSD)

    3. Drug Advisory Programme (DAP)

    4. Long-term Scholarships Programme (LTSP)

      Latest Videos

      Register to get FREE updates

        All Fields Mandatory
      • (Ex:9123456789)
      • Please Select Your Interest
      • Please specify

      • ajax-loader
      • A verifcation code has been sent to
        your mobile number

        Please enter the verification code below

      This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK