1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. GK Facts

Where do Printing of Security Papers, Notes and Minting take Place in India?

10-NOV-2017 16:45

    Security Printing and Minting Corporation of India Limited (SPMCIL) is a Miniratna Category-I CPSE, and wholly owned Schedule ‘A’ Company of Government of India, is engaged in the manufacturing of security papers, minting of coins, printing of bank notes, non-judicial stamp papers, postage stamps and travel documents, etc.

    To read more related articles click below…

    Structure of Banking Sector in India

    Printing of Security Papers and Minting in India-

    1. India Security Press (Nasik Road)—Postal Material, Postal Stamps, Non-postal Stamps, Judicial and Non judicial Stamps, Cheques, Bonds, NSC (National Saving Certificates), Kisan Vikas Patra, Securities of State Governments, Public Sector Enterprise and Financial Corporations.

    2. Security Printing Press (Hyderabad)—Established in 1982 for meeting the demand for postal material by Southern States. It also fulfils the demand for Union Excise Duty Stamps of the Country.

    3. Currency Notes Press (Nasik Road)— Since 1991, this press prints currency notes of Rs. 1, Rs. 2, Rs. 5 , Rs. 10, Rs.  50, and Rs.  100.  

    4. Bank Notes Press (Dewas)— Currency notes of Rs.  20, Rs.  50, Rs.  100 and Rs.  500 are printed here. Currency Note Press, Nashik Road and Bank Note Press, Dewas which are engaged in production of Bank Notes for our country as well as for foreign countries using state of the art technology. More than 40% of Currency Notes circulated in India are printed by these units.

    These two units (Dewas & Nashik Road) have history of export of Bank Notes to countries like East Africa, Iraq, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Bhutan etc. The Bank Note Press, Dewas also manufactures different types of security ink for various security organizations.

    To read more related articles click below…

    Monetary Policy: An overview

    5. Modernised Currency Notes Press — Two new modernised currency notes press are under establishment at Mysore (Karnataka) and Salboni (West Bengal).

    6. Security Paper Mill, Hoshangabad--Security Paper Mill (SPM), Hoshangabad was established in 1968 and notified as non-commercial undertaking under the administrative control of Ministry of Finance, Govt. of India.

    7. Coins are minted at four places— The Mints are situated at Mumbai, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Noida have rich minting heritage and legacy of producing quality products. These mints are carrying out minting of all coins circulated in the country.

     To solve GK quiz on Indian Economy, click on the link below…

    Indian Economy Quiz


    DISCLAIMER: JPL and its affiliates shall have no liability for any views, thoughts and comments expressed on this article.

    Latest Videos

    Register to get FREE updates

      All Fields Mandatory
    • (Ex:9123456789)
    • Please Select Your Interest
    • Please specify

    • ajax-loader
    • A verifcation code has been sent to
      your mobile number

      Please enter the verification code below

    This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK