International Physics Olympiad 2018: India creates history, all 5 participants win gold

Published on: Jul 30, 2018 13:19 IST
Register for Result Update

It was a moment of proud for India when each of the five students representing the country at the International Physics Olympiad (IPhO) 2018 in Lisbon, Portugal won gold medals. This is for the first time in over two decades when all five students have won gold for the nation. Out of 86 countries who participated at the annual competition in physics for secondary school students, only China managed to won the maximum gold medals. A total of 396 students from the world had participated in the annual event this year.

The Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Education (HBCSE), the national centre of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), is the nodal centre of the country for the Olympiads.

The fives student who represented India are - Lay Jain and Pawan Goyal from Kota, Bhaskar Gupta from Mumbai, Nishant Abhangi from Rajkot and Siddharth Tiwary from Kolkata.

The national event aims at brining the brightest mind of the world together for a friendly competition of the highest level.

Let us tell you that the first edition of the International Physics Olympiad took place in Warsaw, Poland, in 1967. There were only 5 participating countries in its first edition.

However, its popularity gained momentum over the year and today 86 countries participated in the event.

Register For Education News
Roll Number
Mobile Number
Email ID
Your Location
What you wish to study
What stream you wish to study?
Your Stream
Study Mode