1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. Sports Current Affairs  |  

Srinivasan removed as ICC Chairman; Shashank Manohar to take his place

Nov 10, 2015 09:09 IST

Narayanaswami Srinivasan was on 9 November 2015 removed as the chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC). He was removed after Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) decided to recall him and nominate its current president Shashank Manohar as the chief of the world body.

The decision to drop him was taken at the BCCI’s 86th Annual General Meeting in Mumbai. Now, BCCI will recommend this change to ICC.

Srinivasan was elected the first chairman of the International Cricket Council for a two-year term (from June 2014 to June 2016). His tenure will be completed by Shashank Manohar as it is India's turn to hold the top position.

As per protocol, respective Boards name a representative on the Ex-Co. The BCCI will propose former ICC President Sharad Pawar's name as an alternative director in the executive committee.

Other decisions taken at the 86th Annual General Meeting of BCCI includes
• Ravi Shastri has also been removed from the IPL governing council.
• Rajeev Shukla has been retained as IPL Chairman.
• Roger Binny was removed from the Team India selection committee. He will be replaced by MSK Prasad from the South zone.
• Gagan Khoda is the other new member of the selection committee, chosen to replace Rajinder Singh Hans.
• Former India captain and current Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president Sourav Ganguly will replace Anil Kumble as the chairman of BCCI’s technical committee.
• The BCCI also named Visakhapatnam, Ranchi, Indore, Pune and Rajkot as the five new venues for hosting Test cricket.

Besides, the BCCI accepted in principle the proposed rules on conflict of interest and other amendments to its constitution. It also appointed retired Justice A.P Shah as the ombudsman, who will look into all conflict of interest disputes.

Now get latest Current Affairs on mobile, Download # 1  Current Affairs App

Is this article important for exams ? Yes20 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: N Srinivasan , BCCI , Shashank Manohar , ICC , ICC Chairman , Ravi Shastri , IPL , Ganguly , Kumble

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK