1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. State Current Affairs  |  

AIADMK won Yercaud Assembly Seat: Tamil Nadu by-election

Dec 9, 2013 14:50 IST

All India Anna Dravida Munetra Kazhagam’s (AIADMK) candidate P. Saroja on 8 December 2013 won the assembly by-election from Yercaud, Tamil Nadu by 78116 votes. AIADMK secured 142771 votes, whereas her rival from Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam’s (DMK) V. Maran secured 64655 votes.

AIADMK has won from Yercaud Constituency for seventh time, since 1957. Saroja became the 11th member of the Yercaud Constituency. In 1957, the Yercaud Constituency was formed a reserve constituency for Scheduled Tribe candidates.

For the first time, NOTA (None of the Above) was introduced in Tamil Nadu elections and 4433 voters opted for it. The by-election was held on 4 December 2013, during which the turnout was 90 percent.

Overall, 11 candidates contested in the election which included AIADMK’s Saroja, DMK’s Maran and nine independents. The by-election was necessitated by the demise of AIADMK MLA Perumal on 18 July 2013. Perumal won the seat of Yercaud constituency in 2011.

If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed

Latest Videos

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK