Arvind Kejriwal sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Delhi

Arvind Kejriwal of Aam Aadmi Party has sworned in as the Chief Minister of Delhi. He has sworn in as the youngest Chief Minister of Delhi.

Created On: Dec 28, 2013 13:13 ISTModified On: Dec 31, 2013 16:39 IST

Arvind KejriwalArvind Kejriwal, the convener of the newly launched Aam Aadmi Party sworn in as the seventh (as a person) Chief Minister of Delhi on 28 December 2013 at a function in Ramlila Maidan. Lieutenant Governor Najeeb Jung administered the oath of office and secrecy to Kejriwal. He has sworn in as the youngest Chief Minister of Delhi.

imageArvind Kejriwal is the youngest CM of Delhi State after Delhi was given the status of Union Territory in 1991 and was designated as NCT. He is of 45 years in age.

Apart from Kejriwal, six other MLAs namely Manish Sisodia, Somnath Bharti, Saurabh Bhrdwaj, Rakhi Birla, Satyendra Kumar Jain and Girish Soni also took oath as Cabinet Ministers.

Aam Aadmi Party that won 28 seats in the election held on 4 December 2013 has formed the state Government with the support of Congress party, which won from eight seats. Most seats were wined by BJP, which failed to get a majority and decided not to try to form a Government.

The place of sworn in, the Ramlila Maidan is the same venue, where he rallied the historic anti-corruption movement that was led by the activist Anna Hazare in 2012.

• Arvind Kejriwal will handle Power, Finance, Home and Planning departments
• Manish Sisodia will handle Education and PWD
• Somnath Bharti will handle tourism and Law departments
• Saurabh Bhardwaj will handle Food, Supply and Transport
• Satendra Jain will handle Health
• Rakhi Birla will handle Women and Child Development Minister
• Girish Soni will handle the charge of Development and Employment departments

Chief Minister of Delhi


Time as the CM

Chaudhary Brahm Prakash

1952 to 1955

GN Singh

1955 to 1956

President Rule

1956 to 1993

Madan Lal Khurana

1993 to 1996

Sahib Singh Verma

1996 to  1998

Sushma Swaraj

1998 to 1998

Sheila Dikshit

1998 to 2003

Sheila Dikshit

2003 to 2008

Sheila Dikshit

2008 to 2013

Arvind Kejriwal


Arvind Kejriwal is only the second Chief Minister to be an IITian after his Goa counterpart Manohar Parrikar. He is a product of Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Khargapur studied Mechanical Engineering and passed out in 1989.


If you have any Question/Point on the above information, please ask/discuss it in the Current Affairs Group

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

9 + 8 =