Five agreements signed between India and Russia during PM Modi’s visit to St Petersburg

India and Russia signed five agreements in sectors covering nuclear energy, railways, gems and jewellery, traditional knowledge and cultural exchanges.

Created On: Jun 2, 2017 09:18 ISTModified On: Jun 2, 2017 09:28 IST

India and Russia on 1 May 2017 signed five Memorandum of Understanding (MoUs)/agreements including a program of cultural exchanges and implementation of the high-speed service at the Nagpur-Secunderabad section among others.

The agreements were signed with an aim to boost the bilateral relations between the two nations. These agreements were inked during Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visit to Russia. Modi was in Russia between 1 May and 2 May 2017.

CA eBook

At present, PM Modi is on a four-nation tour, namely Germany (29 May to 30 May 2017), Spain (30 May - 31 May 2017), Russia (1 June - 2 June 2017 )and France (2 June - 3 June 2017). The trip was planned with an agenda to boost trade and commerce and economic cooperation along with counter-terrorism steps.

List of MoUs/Agreements exchanged during the visit of Prime Minister to Russia

• The program of cultural exchanges for 2017-2019 was signed. The MoU was signed between the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation and the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of India.

• The General Framework Agreement for the construction of the third stage of the Kudankulam NPP (KK5 & KK6) along with the Credit Protocol.

India, Russia signs 16 MoUs including procurement of the S-400 air defence system

• Agreement on granting access to Rospatent experts to the Indian Digital Library of Traditional Knowledge (TKDL) was signed. The agreement was signed between the Federal Service for Intellectual Property (Rospatent) and the Council of India for Scientific and Industrial Research.

• The contract on the preparation of the justification for the implementation of the high-speed service at the Nagpur-Secunderabad section was inked. The contract was signed between JSC Russian Railways and the Ministry of Railways of India.

• Memorandum of cooperation between ALROSA Joint Stock Company (Public Joint Stock Company) and the Council for the Promotion of the Export of Precious Stones and Jewellery of India.

Besides, these agreements the 18th Annual India-Russia Summit was held in St. Petersburg, the place where PM Modi met Russian President Vladimir Putin. Addressing the media at the end of the Summit, Prime Minister Modi recalled his first visit to St. Petersburg as Chief Minister of Gujarat in 2001. He said ties between India and Russia span the spectrum from Culture to Defence (Sanskriti se Suraksha).

India-Russia Military Industrial Conference held in New Delhi

The two nations also signed the Saint Petersburg Declaration, which is a document and highlights the vision of these two nations for the 21st century.

Earlier in the day, the Prime Minister paid homage to the heroic defenders and brave soldiers of the Battle of Leningrad, at the Piskarovskoye Cemetery.

Note: The most important fact about these agreements is that they were signed when these two nations, India and Russia, are celebrating the 70th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations. The two nations have been sharing a special and privileged strategic partnership of mutual trust.

The relationship between the two nations covers almost all areas of cooperation like political relations, trade and economy, security, military and technical field, energy, foreign policy, scientific, cultural and humanitarian exchanges, foreign policy and cultural and humanitarian exchanges among others.

The Prime Minister said 70 years of diplomatic relations between the two countries have been marked by a high degree of convergence on various bilateral and global matters.

Take Weekly Tests on app for exam prep and compete with others. Download Current Affairs and GK app

एग्जाम की तैयारी के लिए ऐप पर वीकली टेस्ट लें और दूसरों के साथ प्रतिस्पर्धा करें। डाउनलोड करें करेंट अफेयर्स ऐप

Comment ()

Post Comment

8 + 4 =