1. Home
  2.  |  
  3. News Capsule  |  

Haraprasad Das was conferred the Moortidevi Award for 2012

Sep 3, 2013 14:33 IST

Haraprasad Das was conferred the Moortidevi Award for 2012 for Vamsha. Vamsa is a poetic recreation of the Mahabharata in contemporary idiom, which has been recognised as a post-modern masterpiece.

Das has done eleven works of poetry, four of prose, three translations and one piece of fiction. He was given the award at Shastri Bhavan by the Moortidevi Award Selection Board, chaired by oil minister Veerappa Moily.

Moortidevi Award

Moortidevi award is presented by the Bhartiya Jnanpith organization. It carries cash prize, a plaque, a statue of goddess of learning Saraswati and a shawl. This is the second Moortidevi award given for Odia literature. In 1991, Dr Pratibha Ray received the award for her novel Yagnaseni.

Quick Digest

Who: Haraprasad Das

What: Moortidevi Award for 2012

Why: for Vamsha

Is this article important for exams ? Yes3 People Agreed
Read more Current Affairs on: Haraprasad , Moortidevi Award for 2012 , Odia

Register to get FREE updates

    All Fields Mandatory
  • (Ex:9123456789)
  • Please Select Your Interest
  • Please specify

  • ajax-loader
  • A verifcation code has been sent to
    your mobile number

    Please enter the verification code below

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy. OK